Kailub Russell Wins Snowshoe GNCC

Cycle News Staff | June 22, 2014

Kailub Russell claimed his third straight GNCC win. Photography by Ken Hill

FMF KTM’s Kailub Russell had little trouble winning the seventh running of the Snowshoe GNCC in Snowshoe, West Virginia, June 22. Other than a minor problem with his goggles (when a rock broke his Roll Off system), Russell had a trouble-free race, taking the checkered flag with more than three minutes to spare over his nearest rival.

That nearest rival was AmPro Yamaha’s Jordan Ashburn who enjoyed his best GNCC finish of his career. He finished just a few minutes ahead of Husqvarna’s Andrew DeLong, who crossed the finish line with plenty of breathing room over top XC2 Pro Lites rider, Grant Baylor, on the FMF KTM.

Rounding out the top five overall was Baylor’s brother, Steward, who took fourth in the XC1 Pro class.

Sixth overall and second XC2 Pro Lites was Trevor Bollinger who finished one minute ahead of fellow XC2 rider Nick Davis.

Eighth overall (fifth XC1) was JRC Honda’s Chris Bach, followed by AmPro Yamaha’s Josh Strang (XC1) and XC2 Pro Lites rider, KTM-mounted Jesse Groemm.

In the Women’s class, FMF KTM’s Kacy Martinez claimed her eighth win of the season and with it clinched the 2014 Women’s-class Championship.

Round 9

June 22, 2014

Snowshow, West Virginia



1. Kailub Russell (KTM)

2. Jordan Ashburn (YAM)

3. Andrew Delong (HSQ)

4. Steward Baylor (KTM)

5. Chris Bach (HON)

6. Josh Strang (YAM)

7. Jason Thomas (KTM)

8. Paul Whibley (YAM)

9. Jesse Robinson (YAM)

10. Ryan Sipes (KTM)

Overall National Championship Standings:

1. Kailub Russell (233)

2. Charlie Mullins (180)

3. Josh Strang (165)

4. Jordan Ashburn (154)

5. Grant Baylor (134)

6. Paul Whibley (123)

7. Andrew Delong (119)

8. Ricky Russell (109)

9. Steward Baylor (102)

10. Chris Bach (92)

XC2 Event Results:

1. Grant Baylor (KTM)

2. Trevor Bollinger (HON)

3. Nick Davis (KTM)

4. Jesse Groemm (KTM)

5. Ricky Russell (YAM)

6. Chris Douglas (KTM)

7. Zach Love (KTM)

8. Jedediah Haines (YAM)

9. Sam Evans (KTM)

10. Layne Michael (HON)

XC2 Series Standings:

1. Grant Baylor (232)

2. Ricky Russell (215)

3. Trevor Bollinger (185)

4. Layne Michael (127)

5. Shane Hufford Jr (114)

6. Jesse Groemm (108)

7. Callan May (101)

8. Sam Evans (100)

9. Chris Douglas (99)

10. Jedediah Haines (87)