Colton Haaker Wins Sacramento EnduroCross

Cycle News Staff | June 22, 2014
  Colton Haaker won the 2014 Sacramento EnduroCross. Photography by Drew Ruiz


Colton Haaker dominated the action at the Sacramento EnduroCross. Photography by Drew Ruiz

Colton Haaker was the big winner at round three of the 2014 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship that took place inside the Sleep Train Arena in Sacramento, California, June 21. It was Haaker’s second career EnduroCross victory.

Haaker was in the zone in Sacramento. The Rockstar/Lucas Oil JCR Honda Team rider was at the top of his game all day, as he set the quickest time in the Hot Lap portion, won his heat race and pretty much dominated the 15-lap main event, but not until surviving a pretty good skirmish early in the feature race.

Haaker was one of a number of riders vying for the $500 Nexen Tire Holeshot Award, with series points leader Cody Webb, on the Beta, coming away with the early lead. Notables Mike Brown and Taddy Blazusiak emerged from the start in sixth and 11th, respectively.

Webb held the point for the first three laps when Haaker came calling.

Haaker made a clean block pass on Webb, who tried getting him back right away but instead went down, taking Taylor Robert with him. Webb managed to hold on to second with Robert still in third.

Haaker took full advantage of Webb’s mistake and maintained his lead for the remaining 11 laps, taking the checkered flag 8.9 seconds ahead of Webb.

Blazusiak, the defending champ, worked his way up through the pack to make a late-race pass on Robert to take third, nine seconds behind Webb.

Robert, on the FMF KTM, ended up fourth, five seconds behind fellow KTM rider Blazusiak.

KTM rider Cory Graffunder rounded out the top five, followed by Husqvarna’s Mike Brown, Beta’s Max Gerston and KTM riders Geoff Aaron, Gary Sutherlin and Ty Tremaine.  

Only three points separate the top three as Webb holds a one-point lead over Haaker and a three-point gap on Blazusiak.

In the Women’s class 17-year-old Morgan Tanke claimed the win. Chantelle Bykerk, the defending Women’s Champion, claimed second overall after passing Rily Elinger on the last lap.

Elinger held on for third and her first podium.

Austin Schiermeister won the Amateur class over brothers Trystan and Wyatt Hart.

Jason Gitchel took the Vet-class win over Kane Silverberg and Kelly Gelhaus.

Joey Fiasconaro was the TrialsCross winner, with Nathan Brown taking second and Michael Salsman third. 

Round 3

June 21, 2014

Sleep Train Arena

Sacramento, California

Main Event Results:

1.  Colton Haaker            Honda

2.  Cody Webb        Beta

3.  Taddy Blazusiak    KTM

4.  Taylor Robert    KTM

5.  Cory Graffunder    KTM

6.  Mike Brown        Husqvarna

7.  Max Gerston        Beta

8.  Geoff Aaron        KTM

9.  Gary Sutherlin    KTM

10.  Ty Tremaine    KTM

11.  Kyle Redmond    KTM

12.  Bobby Prochnau    KTM

13.  Wally Palmer    Christini

Women’s Main Event Results:

1.  Morgan Tanke    KTM

2.  Chantelle Bykerk    KTM

3.  Rily Ellinger        KTM

4.  Rachel Gutish    KTM

5.  Tarah Geiger    KTM

6.  Lexi Pechout        Sherco

7.  Melissa Harten    Gas Gas

8.  Megan Griffiths    KTM

9.  Brianna Vinsonhaler    KTM

10.  Megan Blackburn    Kawasaki