Champions Crowned At Monster Energy Ricky Carmichael Amateur Supercross

Shan Moore | March 11, 2014
Racing gets underway at the Ricky Carmichael Amateur Supercross.

Daytona Beach, Florida (March 10, 2014) – Aaron Plessinger and Austin Forkner were among the winners at the 5th Annual Monster Energy Ricky Carmichael Daytona Amateur Supercross (RCSX) as 34 AMA National Champions were crowned this weekend at Daytona Speedway.

Plessinger won titles in the 250 A/Pro Sport and 450 A/Pro Sport classes on his bLU cRU/ Star Racing Yamaha-backed Yamaha, while Team Green’s Forkner won the prestigious and competitive Super Mini (12-16) division.

A record 1,200 total amateur entries lined up on the gates to do battle for the AMA titles, as video cameras captured the action for a first-time-ever live broadcast on

Ricky Carmichael presided over the activities, and was on site all weekend long, participating in every aspect of the event, including the registration process, track design and preparation, the rider’s meeting and more.

Winning the first WMX race of the year was Yamaha/FLY Racing/Motorcycle Superstore-backed rider Mackenzie Tricker, the Australian native dominating the Women’s final.

Meanwhile, KTM riders Brock Papi and Nathan Thrasher, plus Yamaha-mounted Jacob Grzebinski each won two titles. Papi took his wins in the 85 (12-13) and 85 (9-13) Open, while Grzebinski claimed titles in the College (16-24) and 450 B divisions. Meanwhile, Thrasher won the 65 (7-11) Open and 65 (10-11) classes.

Other winners included Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Zachary Commans, who win the 250 All-Star race, and Team Green Kawasaki’s Jett Reynolds, who claimed titles in the 65 (7-9) class.

The 85 (9-11) class was won by Stilez Robertson on a Kawasaki; Jalek Swoll won the Mini SR (12-14) on a KTM.

In the Senior divisions, Barry Carsten won the Senior A (40+) on a Suzuki; Earl May won the Masters (50+) on a Kawasaki.

Shan Moore | Contributing EditorMoore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.