Dunlop Wins Superbike TT

Cycle News Staff | June 2, 2013

Michael Dunlop took his first-ever Superbike TT victory today at the Isle of Man, the Honda rider taking the lead at Ballaugh Bridge on the opening lap and riding on to a commanding 40-second win over fellow Honda riders Cameron Donald and John McGuinness, the latter overcoming a 60-second penalty to set the outright lap record on the final lap.

After a 45-minute delay due to a road traffic accident, the six-lap race finally got underway at 3 p.m. and it was Gary Johnson who set the early pace, the Lincs Lifting Ltd Honda rider holding a 1.5-second lead over Dunlop at Glen Helen on lap one with McGuinness a further second back. By Ballaugh, however, Dunlop had taken over at the front, turning the deficit to Johnson into a one-second advantage. With an opening lap of 130.842 mph, the Honda TT Legends rider held a 3.2-second lead over new second-placed rider Guy Martin, with Johnson now in third ahead of McGuinness, Donald and Bruce Anstey.

By Glen Helen on lap two, Johnson was back up to second, two seconds up on Martin but now 4.4 seconds adrift of the flying Dunlop while McGuinness, riding in complete Joey Dunlop livery to celebrate 30 years since the 26-times winner’s first victory for Honda, was still back in fourth. By the end of the lap, though, he was up to second but some 15 seconds down on Dunlop, who was continuing to pull away after his first ever 131mph-plus lap.

McGuinness’ pit stop was six seconds quicker than third-placed Martin, but Johnson never got that far having retired at the Nook out of fuel so the leaderboard now read Dunlop, McGuinness, Martin, Donald, Conor Cummins and William Dunlop. However, the latter incurred a 30-second penalty for speeding in the pit lane, which dropped him down the order.

Coming into the second pit stop at the end of lap four, Dunlop was the only rider above 130 mph and it stretched his advantage over McGuinness to 30.8 seconds, though that soon increased with his Honda TT Legends teammate being hit with a one-minute pit-lane penalty that dropped him behind Martin and back to fourth.

Dunlop had now caught McGuinness and Donald on the road with the trio circulating in close formation; at that point, all he had to do was continue that for the final laps to claim his fourth TT win. Nineteen-time winner McGuinness was piling on the coals as he desperately tried to get back on the podium, but lap five spelled disappointment for sixth-placed Dan Stewart, who retired at Sulby Village with a holed radiator.

As McGuinness closed in on Martin, Dunlop was able to ease back in the final lap and bring the bike home for a famous win, his eventual winning margin over Donald in excess of 40 seconds. The Australian, like Dunlop, posted a new personal best lap of the Mountain Course, but McGuinness was still able to grab some headlines as he set a new outright lap record on the final circuit, 131.671 mph, to claim third from Martin and make it a Honda 1-2-3.

Cummins took a good fifth on the Milwaukee Yamaha, the first time he’d completed a six-lap race since 2009 with the third of the Honda TT Legends riders Michael Rutter in sixth. James Hillier took seventh from Anstey, William Dunlop and the sensational Josh Brookes, the Australian finishing in 10th and becoming the fastest-ever newcomer in the process, his final lap being a stunning 127.726 mph.