Monster Speedway: The Lineup!

Cycle News Staff | December 21, 2012
From left to right  Industry Speedways Kelly Inman  former World Speedway Champion Bruce Penhall and Monster Energys Bruce Stjernstrom do the draw at the Monster Headquarters in Corona  California.

Four former World Champions – Tomasz Gollob, Billy Hamill, Greg Hancock, and Maciej Janowski (Under-21) – as well as five U.S. National Champions – Hamill, Hancock, Billy Janniro, Charlie Venegas and Ricky Wells – will be part of the 16-rider lineup of speedway stars set to do battle on December 29 in the Monster Energy World Speedway Invitational in Industry Hills, California.

(From left to right) Industry Speedway’s Kelly Inman, former World Speedway Champion Bruce Penhall and Monster Energy’s Bruce Stjernstrom do the draw at the Monster Headquarters in Corona, California.

Additionally, several of the sport’s brightest young stars from both the U.S. and overseas will have the opportunity to show their talents on a premier international stage.

The official draw for the race took place at Monster Energy World Headquarters in Corona, California on Wednesday with Grand Marshal Bruce Penhall on hand to make the selections.

The 16-rider lineup features nine Americans, a pair each of English, Polish, and Swedish riders, as well as one Dane. Additionally, two alternates, each from the U.S., will be ready to step in, if called upon.

The draw sets the program for the race on December 29th, determining which events a rider will compete in during the night. Below is the draw order. Refer to the downloadable attached program score sheet to see the events each rider has been set up in by the draw.

The official score sheet shows that the race will use the unique and exciting GP format that features 20 initial four-lap heats from which riders will accumulate points in an effort to become one of the top eight competitors to reach one of the two semi-finals. The top two finishers from each semi move on to the final, which will determine the inaugural winner of the Monster Energy World Speedway Invitational.

The Invitational will also showcase America’s fastest motorcycle speedway amateurs, who will have their chance to race in the spotlight of this big night. The Mini 150cc and the Junior 250cc divisions will be composed of five riders apiece, with a pair of heat races and main event scheduled for each class to determine the overall winners. The future of American Speedway will be on full display following the first four sets of pro heats and just prior to the Monster Energy Final.

The riders in the draw are as follows:
1 – Bryan Yarrow – United States
2 – Charlie Venegas – United States
3 – Billy Janniro – United States
4 – Billy Hamill – United States
5 – Fredrik Lindgren – Sweden
6 – Ricky Wells – United States
7 – Jimmy Fishback – United States
8 – Hans Andersen – Denmark
9 – Scott Nicholls – Great Britain
10 – Antonio Lindback – Sweden
11 – Edward Kennett – Great Britain
12 – Greg Hancock – United States
13 – Gino Manzares – United States
14 – Tyson Burmeister – United States
15 – Maciej Janowski – Poland
16 – Tomasz Gollob – Poland
17 – (1st Reserve) Austin Novratil – United States
18 – (2nd Reserve) Rocco Scopellite – United States