Blazusiak Gets Another EnduroCross Win In Boise

Cycle News Staff | October 28, 2012

Taddy Blazusiak won another GEICO EnduroCross main event, this one at the penultimate round inside the Idaho Center, just west of Boise. He was again challenged by Beta’s Cody Webb, who had a shot at the win when Blazusiak went down on the last lap. But Blazusiak remounted and held a small gap to the finish. Webb was able to avenge two straight races where he had been in contention for the podium but stalled his bike and finished back in the field.

Husqvarna’s Cory Graffunder withstood pressure from multiple riders to earn the last podium position. He first had to pass GEICO Honda’s Geoff Aaron on lap five and then hold off different riders throughout the last half of the race. Colton Haaker was the first to challenge Graffunder before a mistake pushed him back to an eventual seventh. Then it was Husqvarna teammate Kyle Redmond that looked to have a shot at the final podium spot before Justin Soule passed him on the last lap to get forth.

Redmond finished fifth ahead of Aaron, Haaker, Bobby Prochnau, Gary Sutherlin, Jamie Lanza and Ryan Sandoval.

Blazusiak also took a commanding lead in the championship as Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert, second in the points chase, failed to qualify for the main event on a track that was described as the toughest this season if not ever by many of the riders. Mike Brown also pulled out of the race after feeling extremely fatigued after the heat race. He had been feeling sick for the last few weeks and has visited a few different doctors trying to determine the cause. Blazusiak has 189 points and Robert held onto second with 132 and Cody Webb is third with 129. With only 60 points up for grabs at the double main event Las Vegas final on November 17th, Robert is the only rider that still has a mathematical chance to claim the title.

Boise, Idaho GEICO EnduroCross, presented by Lucas Oil Expert Main Event results:
1. Taddy Blazusiak KTM
2. Cody Webb Beta
3. Cory Graffunder Husqvarna
4. Justin Soule Kawasaki
5. Kyle Redmond Husqvarna
6. Geoff Aaron Honda
7. Colton Haaker Kawasaki
8. Bobby Prochnau KTM
9. Gary Sutherlin Kawasaki
10. Jamie Lanza Honda
11. Ryan Sandoval Yamaha