Dominguez Pulls Away at Infineon

Henny Ray Abrams | May 5, 2012

SONOMA, CA, MAY 5 – Castrol Triumph’s Dustin Dominguez used traffic to break out of a three-rider fight and win the red flag-interrupted Supersport race on a sunny, windy afternoon at the Great Clips West Coast Moto Jam at Infineon Raceway.

The race was stopped on the fourth of 18 laps when Cameron Gish crashed in turn one with Hayden Gillim unavoidably ramming him. Gillim re-started the race from the pit lane on his spare bike, Gish was transported to the Santa Rosa Memorial Hospital.

After about a 26-minute delay, the grid was set from the end of lap three for a 15-lap race.

Celtic Racing/Orient Express’s James Rispoli bolted to the lead, taking Riders Discount Vesrah Racing’s Jake Lewis with him. Dominguez was an early third, watching and waiting and plotting his move. It came in the exit of the turn seven double rights on the fifth lap, Dominguez passing both Lewis and Rispoli, with Rispoli slotting into second.

For the heart of the race the three ran together. Lewis briefly lost touch, then caught back up. It was about three laps from the end that Dominguez was able to break away. His lead grew to 1.605 secs. ending lap 15, he added nearly second to it on the next lap and kept the heat on.

Most of that evaporated on the run to the flag where he prematurely celebrated with a wheelie. Rispoli closed to within .170 sec. Lewis was .432 sec. back in third.

Then came a gap of nearly 16 secs. to Tomas Puerta (Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha).

Behind Puerta, Garrett Willis (GWR Leo Vince Honda) won the battle for fifth over Wyatt Farris (Mach 1 Motorsports Yamaha), Stefan Mesa ( Yamaha) and Travis Ohge (Meen Motorsports (Yamaha).

Corey Alexander was ninth on the National Guard/Fairhills Group/Celtic Racing Suzuki with Hayden Gillim (Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha) recovering to finish tenth from the pit lane.

Rispoli, the only one of the top three contesting the Supersport West championship, stretched his lead to 22 points, 75 to 53, over Elena Myers (SuzukiScoopFans), the 13th place finisher.

Supersport Results:

1. Dustin Dominguez (Triumph)

2. James Rispoli (Suzuki)

3. Jake Lewis (Suzuki)

4. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)

5. Garrett Willis (Honda)

6. Wyatt Farris (Yamaha)

7. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha)

8. Travis Ohge (Yamaha)

9. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)

10. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha)

Henny Ray Abrams | Contributing Editor

Abrams is the longest-serving contributor at Cycle News. Over the course of his 35-some years of writing and shooting photos, he’s covered events from MotoGP to the Motocross World Championship - and everything in between.