Fillmore Takes XR Race Two

Paul Carruthers | August 28, 2011

Bruce Rossemeyer’s Daytona Racing’s Chris Fillmore bounced back from his disappointing crash in yesterday’s AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 final to win today’s battle, the championship leader beating his rival in the title chase Steve Rapp and yesterday’s winner Tyler O’Hara in today’s race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Although this one was a good one, it lacked the final lap fireworks from yesterday’s race. This time everyone stayed clean and Fillmore got a better break through traffic to open up enough of a gap to hold Rapp at bay on the run to the line. At the finish, Rapp was .168 of a second behind.

Yesterday’s winner O’Hara was again in the mix but he wasn’t as strong as he was a day earlier. This time he settled for third – just a tick over a second behind.

Fourth place went to Michael Barnes, the Drag Specialites/Vance & Hines rider running down Northern Ireland’s Jeremy McWilliams late in the race. McWilliams held fast for fifth – well clear of multi-time Canadian Champion Steve Crevier.

XR1200 Final
1. Chris Fillmore
2. Steve Rapp
3. Tyler O’Hare
4. Michael Barnes
5. Jeremy McWilliams
6. Steve Crevier
7. Michael Corbino
8. Michael Beck
9. Kyle Wyman
10. Shane Narbone

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.