Dominguez Gives Triumph a Win

Henny Ray Abrams | July 9, 2011

LEXINGTON, OHIO, JULY 9 – Latus Motors Racing’s Dustin Dominguez gave Triumph their first win in an AMA road race in over 12 years by running away with the Supersport East final in the first race of the day at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.Dominguez started second and appeared to be losing ground to early leader James Rispoli ( School) on the opening laps. But then Dominguez cut the lead from 1.293 secs. on the second lap to .553 ending the third lap.Rispoli kept the lead for one more lap, the fourth, but that lap was Dominguez’s fastest of the race and on the fifth lap he pounced when Rispoli ran wide in the right hand turn 11.Dominguez grew the lead for a few laps, then it began to balloon and never stopped.

At the end of the 17-lap race Dominguez had an 8.80 second cushion and he celebrated his first win on the Triumph-he’d previously won on a Kawasaki-with a stand-up wheelie.The win was the first for a Triumph since Curtis Adams won the Pro Thunder race at Willow Springs in April of 1999.Rispoli was a comfortable second, even though Hayden Gillim made a late run that brought him to within 1.3 secs. of the New Yorker. And the next gap was over 6.5 secs. to Team LTD’s David Gaviria (Yam).The best racing of the day was for fifth. After getting buried early on, Vesrah Suzuki’s Corey Alexander came through to take the spot from Elena Myers (SuzukiScoopFans) by .184 secs. Team LTD’s Tomas Puerta, who was up front early, dropped back to finish seventh.Rispoli continues to lead the championship with 117 points to 83 for Puerta with five races to go. Dominguez moved into third with 79 points.Supersport East:1. Dustin Dominguez (Triumph)

2. James Rispoli (Suzuki)

3. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha)

4. David Gaviria (Yamaha)

5. Cory Alexander (Suzuki)

6. Elena Myers (Suzuki)

7. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)

8. Miles Thornton (Yamaha)

9. Ryan Kerr (Kawasaki)

10. Cassidy Heiser (Yamaha)


Henny Ray Abrams | Contributing Editor

Abrams is the longest-serving contributor at Cycle News. Over the course of his 35-some years of writing and shooting photos, he’s covered events from MotoGP to the Motocross World Championship - and everything in between.