Blake Young Over Josh Hayes at Miller Motorsports Park

Henny Ray Abrams | May 30, 2011

TOOELE VALLEY, UT, MAY 30 – Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Blake Young rode a tactically strong race to take the victory over Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes on the last lap of the Superbike race on the combined AMA/World Superbike weekend at Miller Motorsports Park. Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Tommy Hayden was third.Hayes, Young, and Hayden bolted to the front at the start, along with M4 Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas, whose race would end up in the mud on the fifth of 16 laps while a strong fourth.That left it to the lead trio to battle over where they’d stand on the podium and Hayes wanted the top spot. Having spent most of the time in the lead, he earned an extra point. But he was also showing Young the way. And Young took the lesson well.More than once Young would make a pass, only to see Hayes retaliate within a few corners, except on the final lap.Young took the lead on the brakes into the first turn and eked out a slim margin through the first sequence of turns. In the hard braking Black Rock Hairpin left, where Young had made more than one pass, he protected the line. And to the end of the lap Hayes never found an opening.

Young, who’d swept the Daytona season-opening double-header, sped to his third victory of the year by .756 secs. Hayden was .815 secs. back in third.After five of 16 rounds, Hayes continues to lead the championship with 133 points to 129 for Young and 122 for Tommy Hayden.Cardenas wasn’t the only crasher. Australians Jordan Burgess and Chris Trounson both crashed out, separately. Team Iron Horse BMW-ESP’s Chris Peris also fell. Foremost Insurance’s Larry Pegram didn’t fall, but his BMW failed to finish. And the most heartbreaking crasher was Cycle World Attack Performance’s JD Beach. The Superbike rookie was in fourth place when he crashed on the 14th of 16 laps.That put National Guard Jordan Suzuki’s Roger Lee Hayden into fourth, his best finish on the Suzuki. Steve Rapp (San Diego BMW) was a distant fifth on the BMW, while Yamaha Extended Service/Pat Clark Motorsports’ Chris Clark finished a career best sixth.Buell’s Geoff May had his best finish of the year in seventh ahead of Jordan Suzuki’s Ben Bostrom.Then came ADR Fly Racing’s David Anthony and Jeremy Toye on the second San Diego BMW S 1000 RR


1. Blake Young (Suzuki)

2. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)

3. Tommy Hayden (Suzuki)

4. Roger Lee Hayden (Suzuki)

5. Steve Rapp (BMW)

6. Chris Clark (Yamaha)

7. Geoff May (Buell)

8. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki)

9. David Anthony (Suzuki)

10. Jeremy Toye (BMW)


Henny Ray Abrams | Contributing Editor

Abrams is the longest-serving contributor at Cycle News. Over the course of his 35-some years of writing and shooting photos, he’s covered events from MotoGP to the Motocross World Championship - and everything in between.