Biaggi Back On Top

Paul Carruthers | July 11, 2010

Aprilia’s Max Biaggi was beaten by Jonathan Rea on his favorite race track in race one at the Brno Circuit in the Czech Republic, but it wasn’t going to happen twice in one day as Biaggi.It was Rea leading this one again from the start, but Biaggi was locked in behind him and not prepared to let him go. They stayed that way for the first six laps, then Biaggi shot past. From there the Italian steadily pulled away, riding to his 13th career World Superbike win and his ninth of the season as he slowed in the closing laps to beat Rea by 4.6 seconds.Third place went to Ducati Xerox’s Michel Fabrizio, the Italian inheriting the spot when BMW’s Ruben Xaus crashed out of a certain rostrum spot on the 14th of 20 laps. From there it was all Fabrizio as he ended up some three seconds clear of fourth place in what was a rather processional race.Fourth went to Sterilgarda Yamaha’s James Toseland, the Brit having passed factory Ducati rider Noriyuki Haga with two laps to go. He ended up almost a second clear of Haga with the Japanese rider securing fifth.Althea Ducati’s Carlos Checa was next in sixth, a few seconds ahead of Alstare Suzuki’s Sylvain Guintoli. Aprilia’s Leon Camier and Shane Byrne were next with Alstare Suzuki’s Leon Haslam rounding out the top 10.Roger Lee Hayden had his best-ever World Superbike finish, the Kentuckian riding the Pedercini Kawasaki to 13th.With Haslam again suffering through a miserable weekend, Biaggi further extended his World Championship points lead in the Czech Republic. He now leads Haslam by 68 points, 352-284. Rea is third with 203 points.Cal Crutchlow, who finished third in race one, was forced to pit with a bad tire and was credited with 14th place.

Race Two

1.                  Max Biaggi (Aprilia)

2.                  Jonathan Rea (Honda)

3.                  Michel Fabrizio (Ducati)

4.                  James Toseland (Yamaha)

5.                  Noriyuki Haga (Ducati)

6.                  Carlos Checa (Ducati)

7.                  Sylvain Guintoli (Suzuki)

8.                  Leon Camier (Aprilia)

9.                  Shane Byrne (Ducati)

10.                  Leon Haslam (Suzuki)


Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.