AMA Releases 2010 National MX Numbers

Press Release | November 6, 2009

In partnership with Feld Motor Sports and MX Sports Pro Racing, the American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) has announced the 2010 national numbers for pro-licensed riders in the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, and the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship.National numbers in the disciplines of Supercross and Motocross are assigned by the following process:No. 1: The current series champion must run the No. 1 plate in that series.Nos. 2-9: A champion from the previous competition year may choose a permanent single-digit number if available, with the exception of No. 4. The AMA has reserved No. 4 for exclusive use by Ricky Carmichael through 2011.Nos. 10-999: Riders who finish in the top 10 in combined championship points in Supercross, Motocross 250 and Motocross 450 competition in the previous competition year have the option to choose a career national two-digit number, if available. These riders, by their option, may instead select a three-digit national number.Riders who finish outside the top 10 but in the top 100 in combined championship points in Supercross, Motocross 250 and Motocross 450 competition in the previous year will be assigned consecutive two-digit numbers from the available supply until that supply is exhausted.A comparison of riders’ best moto finishes breaks a tie, unless one of those riders competed in only one discipline. In the case of a tie between a rider who rode one discipline (e.g., Supercross) and a rider who rode both disciplines, the tie is broken in favor of the rider who rode both series.A rider who fails to earn at least one championship point during the season preceding the current season will lose his or her career number and be issued a new number based on current points. Special consideration is given to a rider if an injury impeded participation the previous year.Note: Lower three-digit competition numbers (e.g., 100-125) are traditionally held for past or current champions from non-U.S. series who participate in a Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, or a Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross event.AMA National Motocross/Supercross Competition Numbers* Career numbers** New career numbers for 2010*2: Ryan Villopoto*3: Mike Brown**5: Ryan Dungey (No. 1, Motocross 250 and Supercross Lites West)*7: James Stewart (No. 1, Supercross)*8: Grant Langston*9: Ivan Tedesco10: Thomas Hahn*11: Travis Preston12: Jake Weimer*13: Heath Voss*14: Kevin Windham*15: Timmy Ferry*16: John Dowd17: Justin Barcia*18: David Millsaps19: Tommy Searle20: Broc Tickle21: Blake Wharton*22: Chad Reed (No. 1, Motocross 450)23: Justin Brayton*24: Brett Metcalfe*25: Nathan Ramsey*26: Michael Byrne*27: Nicholas Wey28: Tyla Rattray*29: Andrew Short30: Cody Cooper31: Matthew Lemoine32: Kyle Cunningham**33: Josh Grant34: James Albertson35: Matthew Goerke36: Darryn Durham37: Tyler Bowers38: Trey Canard39: Ricky Dietrich40: Jake Moss41: Kyle Regal42: Ben Evans43: Steven Clarke44: PJ Larsen45: Austin Stroupe46: Ryan Sipes47: Matt Boni48: Max Anstie49: William Hahn50: Alex Martin51: Paul Carpenter52: Antonio Balbi53: Jeff Alessi54: Jason Lawrence55: Kyle Chisholm56: Ben Coisy57: Jarred Browne58: Weston Peick59: Daniel Reardon*60: Broc Hepler61: Vince Freise62: Jason Thomas63: Sean Borkenhagen64: Taylor Futrell65: Troy Adams66: Blake Baggett67: Chris Blose68: Robert Kiniry69: Adam Chatfield70: Robby Marshall71: Kyle Summers72: Christian Craig73: Ben Lamay74: Tucker Hibbert*75: Josh Hill76: Martin Davalos77: Charles J Summey78: Gavin Gracyk79: Justin Sipes80: Billy Laninovich81: Cole Siebler82: Jesse Casillas83: Steve Boniface84: Michael Hall85: Scott Champion86: Bobby Bonds87: Les Smith88: Ricky Renner89: Jacob Marsack90: Willy Browning91: Jase Lewis92: Michael Willard93: Justin McDonald94: Ryan Morais95: Lucas Crespi96: Josh Hansen97: Robert Fitch98: Roberto Castro99: Topher Ingalls**377: Christophe Pourcel (No. 1, Supercross Lites East)*800: Mike Alessi

By Press Release