Stewart Dominates San Francisco

Cycle News Staff | February 1, 2009

It was another win for James Stewart in San Francisco and Chad Reed’s points lead in the Supercross Championship continues to shrink. Stewart took a decisive victory in The City, where the supercross crowd was treated to an uncharacteristically dry track – the first time in years the San Francisco round hasn’t been a total mudder.

Reed took a strong second place finish ahead of Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, who landed his second podium finish of the season. Josh Grant finished fourth followed by Red Bull Honda’s Andrew Short, who rounded out the top five.

SX Heat 1

Josh Grant took the holeshot with Ben Coisy, Josh Hill and Ivan Tedesco in tow. Grant checked out after the first lap while a battle for second broke out between Hill, Tedesco and Coisy. Meanwhile, Reed was closing on the three-way battle for second after a bad start.

Hill blitzed the whoops and took control of the point, and Reed and Tedesco both found a way around Coisy shortly after that. Reed would only make it up to fourth by the finish and Ryan Villopoto was also playing catch up after a bad start, and would only qualify fifth.

Heat 1 Results:

1. Josh Grant

2. Josh Hill

3. Ivan Tedesco

4. Chad Reed

5. Ryan Villopoto

6. Ben Coisy

7. Cole Siebler

8. Tyler Bowers

9. Josh Hansen

10. Eric Sorby

11. Gregory Crater

12. Daniel Blair

13. Manuel Rivas

14. Tony Boughten

15. Vernon McKiddie

16. Antonio Balbi

17. Heath Voss

18. Nathan Tiearney

19. Matt Boni

20. Kyle Partridge

SX Heat 2

Makita Suzuki’s Mike Alessi grabbed the holeshot with Stewart right on his heels. Davi Millsaps, Timmy Ferry and Charles Summey were involved in a first-turn tangle which left them untangling their bikes while the pack thundered by. Alessi tried to hold on to the lead, but Stewart flew by him in the whoops and checked out. Andrew Short also got around Alessi, and Windham was also looking for a way around #800, but had to settle for fourth.

Heat 2 Results:

1. James Stewart

2. Andrew Short

3. Mike Alessi

4. Kevin Windham

5. Kyle Chisholm

6. Steve Boniface

7. Troy Adams

8. Paul Carpenter

9. Daniel McCoy

10. Davi Millsaps

11. Nick Wey

12. Jacob Marsack

13. Ben Lamay

14. Charles Summey

15. Michael Blose

16. Tiger Lacey

17. Chris Johnson

18. Adam Metzler

19. Timmy Ferry

20. Jarred Jet Browne

SX LCQ: Millspas, Nick Wey and Heath Voss led the way off the start of the LCQ. Meanwhile, Ferry and Summey both found themselves at the back of the pack yet again, this time losing any opportunity to make it to the main event. Voss moved into second place ahead of Wey, who was left to collect the Racer X gas card.

LCQ Results:

1. Davi Millsaps

2. Heath Voss

3. Nick Wey

4. Matt Boni

5. Manuel Rivas

6. Antonio Balbi

7. Ben Lamay

8. Tiger Lacey

9. Gergory Crater

10. Vernon McKiddie

11. Adam Metzler

12. Tony Boughten

13. Nathan Tiearney

14. Michael Blose

15. Timmy Ferry

16. Daniel Blair

17. Charles Summey

18. Chris Johnson

19. Jacob Marsack

20. Jarred Jet Browne

21. Kyle Partridge

22. Eric Sorby

SX Main Event:

Stewart stuck his YZ out front early followed by Alessi, Villopoto and Reed. By the green flag, the damage had been done and Stewart was off like a prom dress. Meanwhile, Reed made quick work of Villopoto and looked to get around his teammate, Alessi. Reed finally made a move on Alessi and got Villopoto followed suit, getting his way into the top three. Josh Grant was lurking close behind Alessi and made his way around #800, leaving the door open for Short to also get by, making his way into the top five.

Villopoto sprinted to stay on Reed as Reed struggled to keep the #7 in his sights, but Stewart was comfortably checking out. Villopoto did well to stay with Reed while the pack spread out behind him, leading the field to a somewhat uneventful race.

Main Event Results:

1. James Stewart

2. Chad Reed

3. Ryan Villopoto

4. Josh Grant

5. Andrew Short

6. Kevin Windham

7. Josh Hill

8. Davi Millsaps

9. Mike Alessi

10. Ivan Tedesco

11. Heath Voss

12. Ben Coisy

13. Cole Siebler

14. Kyle Chisholm

15. Daniel McCoy

16. Tyler Bowers

17. Josh Hansen

18. Troy Adams

19. Paul Carpenter

20. Steve Boniface

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings

1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Suzuki, 108

2. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha, 102

3. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 95

4. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 88

5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 87

6. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 73

7. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 68

8. Mike Alessi, Apple Valley, Calif., Suzuki, 58

9. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 56

10. Davi Millsaps, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 55