San Diego Supercross Qualifying

Kit Palmer | February 14, 2009

James Stewart set a high mark to beat following today’s timed qualifying at the San Diego Supercross. Stewart, on the San Manuel Yamaha, is nearly two seconds quicker than anyone else around the Qualcomm Stadium track. Stewart’s best lap was 46.286 seconds and next quickest was Honda Red Bull’s Davi Millsaps with a 48.230. Third quickest is Yamaha’s Josh Hill with a 48.238, and round-one winner Josh Grant, on the Joe Gibbs Racing Yamaha, is fourth quickest with a 48.380.

Rounding out the top five is Makita Rockstar Suzuki’s Chad Reed with a 48.436.

Overall, times are very close, as the second- through eighth-quickest riders are all within a second of each other.

In the Lites class, Makita Rockstar Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey stands on top. He’s the only 250cc rider to crack the 48-second mark with a 48.732. Series points leader Jake Weimer, on the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki, is not far behind with a 49.060. KTM’s Justin Brayton is third-quickest with a 49.458.

Racing conditions for tonight’s races promises to be good. Rain for Saturday night, which was in the forecast earlier in the week, won’t arrive in the San Diego area until late Sunday, leaving clear, but cold, conditions for tonight’s racing program.

The San Diego Supercross is welcoming back to the series Makita Rockstar Suzuki’s Michael Byrne and Yamaha’s Broc Hepler. Both riders are returning from injuries. For Byrne, it’s his first race of the year. Both Byrne and Hepler posted times in the 49-second range.

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.