Stewart’s Perfect

Shan Moore | August 30, 2008

DELMONT, Pa.  James Stewart made history today, at the final round of the 2008 AMA Toyota Motocross Series when earned his record-tying 12th victory of the season at the inaugural American Motocross Festival at Steel City Raceway. In all, Stewart claimed 24-straight moto wins and 12 overall victories on the season to become only the second rider in the history of the sport to accomplish the feat. Additionally, he joined Ricky Carmichael as a Monster Energy/Kawasaki Triple Crown of Motocross winner.

“For me, it was a relief for the season to be over,” explained Stewart, who led 369 of the 382 laps completed this season. “After the last few years I’ve had in outdoors, I’ve had a really tough time finishing the season. It was just a lot of weight lifted off my shoulders, especially after coming off the surgery.”

Stewart’s Monster Energy Kawasaki teammate Timmy Ferry finished second overall with a 2-2 finish after a fierce battle in both motos with Factory Yamaha’s Broc Hepler.

Hepler finished out the day in third overall, with a 3-3 score, while Suzuki’s Michael Byrne and Red Bill Honda’s Andrew Short rounded out the top five.

In the Lites divison, Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey cruised to back-to-back moto victories en route to his third overall win of the season.

“To get both moto wins was awesome,” said Dungey, who has won three of the last four events. “I almost led every lap too. I haven’t really had that chance to be out front and it was just a great experience to do that.”

Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Nico Izzi posted a career best second overall after finishing fifth and second in the day’s motos. GEICO Powersports Honda’s Jake Weimer rounded out the overall podium with sixth and third place moto results.

Meanwhile, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto came into the final round as the only Lites rider with a shot at winning the Monster Energy Triple Crown, however, Villopoto’s chances went out the window early in the first moto when his shift lever was bent under his frame after he Izzi collided in a turn.

Motocross (Overall)

1. James Stewart (Kaw)

2. Tim Ferry (Kaw)

3. Broc Hepler (Yam)

4. Michael Byrne (Suz)

5. Andrew Short (Hon)

6. Jimmy Albertson (Hon)

7. Sean Hamblin (Yam)

8. Josh Hill (Yam)

9. Ivan Tedesco (Hon)

10. Matt Boni (Hon)

Motocross Lites (Overall)

1. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

2. Nico Izziv(Suz)

3. Jake Weimer (Hon)

4. Brett Metcalfe (Kaw)

5. Broc Tickle (Yam)

6. Blake Wharton (Hon)

7. Matt Lemoine (Yam)

8. Phillip Nicoletti (Kaw)

9. Kyle Chisholm (Kaw)

10. Steven Clarke (Suz)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.