Reed Gets Back On Track In Indy

Shan Moore | March 1, 2008

Chad Reed got back on the winning track by dominating round nine of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series in Indianapolis, Indiana, tonight.

At the final Supercross race to be held at the RCA Dome, Reed grabbed the holeshot and pulled away to an easy win, while Yamaha’s Josh Hill battled back and forth with Honda riders Kevin Windham, Andrew Short and Davi Millsaps over the runner-up position.

Late in the race, Millsaps looked to be in solid control of second position but a crash on lap 17 dropped the Georgian to an eventual 18th overall.

Meanwhile, Hill inherited the second place slot and led Short to the checkers while Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey [making his first ride in the 450 class] and Windham rounded out the top five.

“I struggled with the track in practice, but in the main event, I was able to put it together,” said Reed. “I wanted to win the holeshot and get this win here at the RCA Dome. I have never won here before tonight.”

Next year’s race in Indianapolis will be held at the new Lucas Oil Stadium.

In the Lites division, last week’s winner, Trey Canard won a wild final ahead of Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto and Suzuki’s Nico Izzi.

Canard took the early and held it until lap five, when Villopoto attempted a pass for the lead and then fell in front of Canard, putting them both on the ground and giving the lead to Villopoto’s teammate Branden Jesseman.

Canard got going before Villopoto and retook the lead on the next lap when Jesseman stalled his bike in the same corner that Canard and Villopoto had tangled in.

Canard pulled away to the win, while Villopoto made a desperate charge from eighth position to pick off Izzi on the final lap for second.

“I received a couple presents out there tonight with Jesseman crashing,” said Canard. “I tried to ride hard and smart, but I am really excited about this win. These last two weeks have been amazing.”

AMA Supercross Class Results

1. Chad Reed (Yam)

2. Josh Hill (Yam)

3. Andrew Short (Hon)

4. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

5. Kevin Windham (Hon)

6. Travis Preston (Kaw)

7. Paul Carpenter (Hon)

8. Nathan Ramsey (Yam)

9. David Vuillemin (Suz)

10. Josh Hansen (Yam)

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results

1. Trey Canard (Hon)

2. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)

3. Nico Izzi (Suz)

4. Ben Coisy (Hon)

5. Ryan Sipes (KTM)

6. Branden Jesseman (Kaw)

7. Tyler Bowers (Yam)

8. Billy Payne (Hon)

9. Matt Goerke (KTM)

10. Martin Davalos (KTM)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.