Carmichael Picks Up 99th MX Win at Southwick

Shan Moore | June 10, 2007

SOUTHWICK, MASSACHUSETTS, June 10: Ricky Carmichael picked up his 99th AMA Motocross win, and the 147th of his career, at the MotoTees Southwick National, today, while Kawasaki’s Ben Townley claimed the win in the AMA Motocross Lites class.

Carmichael, who has three races remaining before retiring into a four-wheel racing career, ran down Kawasaki’s James Stewart in the opening moto to take the win and then, after grabbing the second moto holeshot, outdistanced the field on his factory Suzuki to score the 1-1 victory.

The win was his 12th victory at Southwick’s famed Motocross 338 facility.

“Seven years of training (with trainer Aldon Baker) really pay off at a track like this,” said Carmichael, referring to the physical stamina required at the sand track at Motocross 338. “I’ve done pretty well here over the years, but let me tell you, it doesn’t make it any easier.”

Stewart was second overall with a 2-2 moto finish while Yamaha’s Grant Langston finished third overall with a pair of third place moto finishes. Langston actually passed Stewart at the midway point of the second moto to take over second, but Stewart picked up the pace and retaliated a lap later to claim the runner up finish.

As part of an official Proclamation, which was presented to Carmichael in the opening ceremonies, the City of Southwick recognized June 10, 2007, as “Ricky Carmichael Day.”

“It is really special and meant a lot to me,” said Carmichael. “To be honest, it’s the only reason that I came here. I wasn’t planning on coming to race Southwick but (the Proclamation) changed my mind.”

The AMA Motocross Lites win was the second of the season for Townley and closed the gap to eight points (138-130) in the standings on Kawasaki teammate Ryan Villopoto.

Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey placed third overall with a 3-3 moto finish. MX OVERALL:

1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)

2. James Stewart (Kaw)

3. Grant Langston (Yam)

4. Andrew Short (Hon)

5. Mike Alessi (KTM)

6. Gavin Gracyk (Hon)

7. John Dowd (Suz)

8. Troy Adams (Suz)

9. David Vuillemin (Hon)

10. Kevin Windham (Hon)


1. Ben Townley (Kaw)

2. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)

3. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

4. Jason Lawrence (Yam)

5. Josh Grant (Hon)

6. Kyle Chisholm (Kaw)

7. Josh Hill (Yam)

8. Billy Laninovich (Hon)

9. Billy Ainsworth (Kaw)

10. Robert Kiniry (Kaw)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.