Bobbitt Tops Lafferty at Texas National Enduro Opener

Shan Moore | February 5, 2007

Defending National Champion Russell Bobbitt (right) claimed the win at the opening round of the 2007 AMA FMF Racing National Enduro Series held in Gilmer, Texas, yesterday.

Bobbitt battled race-long with seven-time champ Mike Lafferty (below) over the rocky, 66-mile course, the KTM teammates finishing the two-lap event deadlocked with 10 points each. However Bobbitt’s faster time in the tie-break sections gave him the win by just seconds.

A surprising third overall by Nashville’s Dustin Gibson gave KTM a podium sweep, while last year’s number two-ranked rider Stephen Edmondson, also on a KTM, finished fourth, one point ahead of Husqvarna’s Travis Green.

Patrick Garrahan (KTM), Nick Fahringer (G-G), Brian Garrahan (Yam), Chris Gault (KTM) amd Jake Fiddler (Suz) rounded out the top 10.

The Gilmer event drew a large entry, over 350 riders, largely because of the new rules put in place for this year’s series, which basically eliminate the need for time-keeping.

The series now heads to California for the Quicksilver Enduro, round two of the series, to be held on February, 25th.

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.