Stewart Wins Big in Orlando

Shan Moore | March 18, 2006

Team Kawasaki’s James Stewart grabbed the holeshot in the main event and pulled away to a comfortable win on a rough and sandy track at round 11 of the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series at the Citrus Bowl in Orlando, Florida, tonight.

Makita Suzuki’s Ricky Carmichael gated in third place in the main and quickly passed Stewart’s factory Kawasaki teammate, Michael Byrne, to move into second, but Carmichael could not match the speed of Stewart, who was obviously out to prove a point.

By lap three, Stewart had pulled 7.5 seconds on Carmichael, and by lap five he had extended the lead to 11.5 seconds. On lap 13, Stewart’s lead was 14.7 seconds. Stewart lapped up to eighth place before putting it on cruise.

Finishing in third place was MDK/Motosport/Honda’s Nick Wey, who passed Carmichael’s Makita Suzuki teammate, Ivan Tedesco, on the final lap to take the position.

Team Yamaha’s Chad Reed, who was riding in extreme pain from his shoulder injury, finished fifth after having to come through a Semi. Team Honda’s Travis Preston was sixth, ahead of Byrne, Tim Ferry and SoBe/Samsung Mobile Honda’s Kevin Windham.

In the Lites division, SoBe/Samsung Mobile/Honda’s Josh Grant passed Team Honda’s Davi Millsaps, Yamaha of Troy’s Branden Jesseman, and Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Chris Gosselaar to take the lead on lap three of the main event and went on to easily win his second main event of the year. Millsaps moved into second place, behind Grant, on lap five of the 15-lap race, but couldn’t get close enough to Grant to make a challenge. Gosselaar finished third, with Jesseman and Star Racing’s Martin Davalos rounding out the top five.

With the win, Grant moves into a tie for second place in the series standings with Gosselaar, but the two riders are still 25 points behind Millsaps.

SX MAIN (20 laps):

1. James Stewart (Kaw)

2. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)

3. Nick Wey (Hon)

4. Ivan Tedesco (Suz)

5. Chad Reed (Yam)

6. Travis Preston (Hon)

7. Michael Byrne (Kaw)

8. Tim Ferry (Yam)

9. Kevin Windham (Hon)

10. Jeff Dement (Suz)

SX LITES MAIN (15 laps):

1. Josh Grant (Hon)

2. Davi Millsaps (Hon)

3. Chris Gosselaar (Kaw)

4. Branden Jesseman (Yam)

5. Martin Davalos (Yam)

6. Tommy Hahn (Hon)

7. Kelly Smith (Hon)

8. Dusty Klatt (Hon)

9. Michael Blose (Hon)

10. Josh Woods (Suz)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.