Lafferty Wins Hare Scrambles Final

| October 18, 2005

Mike Lafferty (pictured) won the final AMA National Hare Scrambles of the year, but it was Kawasaki Team Green’s Chuck Woodford who took home the series number-one plate.

In New Jersey last weekend, KTM’s Lafferty chose the two-stroke over his usual four-stroke, but the results were pretty much the same. The reigning Enduro champ took the win over fellow KTM pilot Shane Watts, while Yamaha rider Ryan Rodgers, from Dover, Pennsylvania, finished third. Suzuki-mounted Brian Garrahan and Yamaha rider Justin Williamson rounded out the top five overall.

Woodford ended up finishing out the year on top of the leaderboard with 165 points and two wins, while second in the series went to Am-Pro Yamaha’s Jason Raines, who was leading the series before breaking his leg with two rounds to go. He ended up with 147 points and three wins. Garrahan finished third in the series, followed by Robbie Jenks and his brother Patrick Garrahan.

Lafferty, who competed in only a few of the rounds, ended up eighth in the series.

By Raymond Gundy