Hawkins Clinches Seventh Enduro Title

Kit Palmer | November 1, 2004

Randy Hawkins wrapped up the 2004 National Enduro title yesterday with a sixth-place finish at the series final in New Paris, Indiana. For Hawkins, it is his seventh National Enduro title and the third for Yamaha, two of those coming with Hawkins at the helm. Hawkins’ last title came in 1994.

In Indiana, though, it was Gas Gas rider from Pennsylvania John Barber who came away with the overall win, followed by KTM rider Leonard Keen and Yamaha rider Barry Hawk. Husqvarna’s Fred Hoess and Throttlehead.com/Kawasaki’s Steve Hatch rounded out the top five overall.

Hawkins finished out the year with one win and 196 points, while second in the series went to KTM’s David Lykke with 182 points and two wins to his credit. Hatch ended up third in the series, followed by Hoess, Hawk and 2003 champ Mike Lafferty, who was forced to sit out the first half of the series with a knee injury.

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.