Everts, Townley Crowned

| September 14, 2004

Stefan Everts clinched his eighth World Motocross title with victory at the Grand Prix of Ireland on Sunday. The Belgian legend went 2-1 for the win in the MX1 class, and was back to his best form as he won in front of around 15,000 spectators.

It was an amazing effort from the Rinaldi Yamaha rider, the Belgian picking up his 79th Grand Prix victory. Second place went to Mickael Pichon of the Tiscali Honda team, the Frenchman going 1-2, but losing out to Everts because of Everts’ better second-moto result. Third place went to CAS Honda rider Josh Coppins, who went 3-4.

For Everts though it was time to rejoice.

“I am so happy to win this,” Everts said. “My father won a World title in Ireland in 1979 and I’ve always liked the people here. I can now go to the South African Grand Prix and really enjoy myself.”

In the MX2 class it was Champ KTM rider Ben Townley who won his first-ever World Motocross Championship. The New Zealander looked in brilliant form as he clocked up 1-1 results and showed once again he is the man in the MX2 class. Second place went to De Carli Yamaha rider Antonio Cairoli and third place was earned by Tyla Rattray of the Champ KTM team.

“I knew it would be great to be World Champion, but it’s even better than I imagined,” Townley said. “I was not nervous coming into the Grand Prix of Ireland, I just wanted to enjoy the day and become World Champion.”

MX1 Moto1: 1. Mickael Pichon (Hon); 2. Stefan Everts (Yam); 3. Josh Coppins (Hon); 4. Cedric Melotte (Yam); 5. Steve Ramon (KTM); 6. Kevin Strijbos (Suz); 7. Ken De Dijcker (Hon); 8. Marnicq Bervoets (Yam); 9. Danny Theybers (Yam); 10. Lauris Freibergs (Hon).

MX1 Moto2: 1. Stefan Everts (Yam); 2. Mickael Pichon (Hon); 3. Tanel Leok (Suz); 4. Josh Coppins (Hon); 5. Kevin Strijbos (Suz); 6. Billy Mackenzie (Yam); 7. Gordon Crockard (Hon); 8. Steve Ramon (KTM); 9. Lauris Freibergs (Hon); 10. Danny Theybers (Yam).

FIM WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP MX1 SERIES POINTS STANDINGS (After 15 of 16 rounds): 1. Stefan Everts (666/7wins); 2. Mickael Pichon (573/5); 3. Josh Coppins (519/1); 4. Steve Ramon (439); 5. Kevin Strijbos (421); 6. Tanel Leok (338); 7. Cedric Melotte (317/1); 8. Brian Jorgensen (294); 9. Ken De Dijcker (247); 10. Luigi Seguy (217).

MX2 Moto1: 1. Ben Townley (KTM); 2. Tyla Rattray (KTM); 3. Antonio Cairoli (Yam); 4. Marvin Van Daele (Suz); 5. Rui Goncalves (Yam); 6. Jussi Vehvilainen (Hon); 7. Alessio Chiodi (Yam); 8. Aigar Leok (KTM); 9. Sebastien Pourcel (Kaw); 10. Carl Nunn (Hon).

MX2 Moto2: 1. Ben Townley (KTM); 2. Aigar Leok (KTM); 3. Marc De Reuver (KTM); 4. Antonio Cairoli (Yam); 5. Tyla Rattray (KTM); 6. Garath Swanepoel (KTM); 7. Anthony Boissiere (Yam); 8. Claudio Federici (Yam); 9. Jonathan Barragan (KTM); 10. Carl Nunn (Hon) .

FIM WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP MX2 SERIES POINTS STANDINGS (After 15 of 16 rounds): 1. Ben Townley (572/8wins); 2. Tyla Rattray (464/2); 3. Antonio Cairoli (409/1); 4. Stephen Sword (382/1); 5. Alessio Chiodi (362); 6. Mickael Maschio (343); 7. Andrew McFarlane (329/1); 8. Carl Nunn (275); 9. Patrick Caps (264); 10. Claudio Federici (256) .

By Freelance