Controversy Invades Lima HM

| June 28, 2004
KTM USA/Jones Powersport’s Joe Kopp put a late-race move on KK Motorcycle Supply/Las Vegas Harley-Davidson’s Geo Roeder II and crossed the finish line first at the Lima Half Mile last Saturday night. Accordingly, he then occupied the top spot of the podium.

But it will be at least Wednesday before Kopp may be declared the winner – or possibly the loser – of this, the sixth round of the AMA Progressive Insurance Series.

A post-race fuel inspection revealed that the fuel in Kopp’s bike and that of Kevin Atherton, who finished well down in the field, were not in compliance with AMA fuel rules. Both riders have been disqualified. The AMA will be sending the fuel to a lab today for further testing, with outcome expected by Wednesday. The results will be made official at that time.

In the race, Kopp ducked underneath Roeder to take the lead with about four laps to go, the pair several lengths ahead of reigning AMA Progressive Insurance U.S. Flat Track Champion Chris Carr, who finished third after acing out KTM/Jones Powersports’ Kenny Coolbeth for the spot just before the finish. Memphis Shades/Parts Unlimted’s J.R. Schnabel rounded out the top five.

Allen County Fairgrounds
Lima, Ohio
Results: June 26, 2004 (Round 6 of 20)
GRAND NATIONAL (25 laps, 18 riders): 1. Joe Kopp (H-D)*; 2. Geo Roeder (H-D); 3. Chris Carr (H-D); 4. Kenny Coolbeth (H-D); 5. J.R. Schnabel (H-D); 6. Paul Lynch (H-D); 7. Dominic Beaulac (H-D); 8. Jared Mees (H-D); 9. Jay Spring Steen (H-D); 10. Chris Evans (H-D); 11. Johnny Murphree (H-D); 12. Mike Hacker (H-D); 13. Rich King (H-D); 14. Willie McCoy (H-D); 15. Aaron Creamer (H-D); 16. Chris Hart (H-D); 17. Kevin Atherton (H-D)*. 18. Jake Johnson (H-D).
Time: 10 min., 59.914 sec.
*Disqualified pending lab results for fuel infractions.

AMA PROGRESSIVE INSURANCE U.S. FLAT TRACK CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINTS STANDINGS (after 5 of 20 rounds): 1. Chris Carr (106/2 wins); 2. Joe Kopp (90/1 win)*; 3. Kenny Coolbeth (65); 4. J.R. Schnabel (62/2 wins); 5. Johnny Murphree (61); 6. Mike Hacker (55); 7. Willie McCoy (52); 8. Shaun Russell (51); 9. Jake Johnson (50); 10. Jay Springsteen (40); 11. Bryan Smith (37); 12. Geo Roeder (34); 13. (TIE) Rich King (30/1 win)/Jared Mees (30); 15. (TIE) Paul Lynch (27)/Brett Landes (27); 17. Rob Pearson (22); 18. Kevin Atherton (20)*; 19. (TIE) Bryan Bigelow (19)/Gary Rogers (19).
*Pending lab results for fuel infractions.

By Scott Rousseau