Smith, Roeder Rock Del Mar Mile

| October 6, 2003
American Honda/1st Racing’s Bryan Smith had said that he wanted to prove his worth as the newly crowned Formula USA National Dirt Track Champion by winning the K&N Filters Del Mar Mile yesterday, and the 20-year-old accomplished his goal.

On a sandy Del Mar Fairgrounds track that was smoother than it has ever been – although the riders still fought the same visibility problems as usual – Smith battled with fellow Michigander and Formula USA Dirt Track Rookie of the Year Nick Cummings for the first 12 laps of the 16-lap main event before pulling clear in turn three after the Pro Honda Oils and Chemicals/BF/LFA-sponsored Cummings bobbled. Smith was then able to pull away, taking the win by 2.338 seconds. Cummings finished another four seconds ahead of Del Mar Short Track winner Jared Mees on the Saddlemen Racing/Lancaster H-D/Dodge Brothers Honda.

KK Motorcycle Supply/Las Vegas Harley-Davidson’s Geo Roeder II was once again the King of the Twins at Del Mar, winning the 15-lap Memphis Shades Twins Challenge for the third time in four years. The Ohioan and his Harley XR750 had to do battle with a pair of factory Suzuki riders early on, but then pulled clear of both to win the race by a whopping 8.56 seconds. Team Suzuki’s Kevin Varnes finished second, putting the team’s new DL1000-powered dirt tracker on the podium for the second time in as many Formula USA mile rounds; Varnes was third at Sacramento aboard the machine, which uses the same engine found in the Suzuki V-Strom streetbike. Varne’s teammate, A.J. Eslick, finished third in the race, pulling double duty as he also wore an on-bike camera to collect footage for an upcoming show on the Spike TV television network.

Del Mar Fairgrounds
Del Mar, California
Results: October 5, 2003 (Round 9 of 9)
PRO SINGLES NATIONAL (16 laps; 18 riders): 1. Bryan Smith (Hon); 2. Nick Cummings (Hon); 3. Jared Mees (Hon); 4. Logan Myers (Hon); 5. Terry Poovey (Hon); 6. Dan Stanley (Hon); 7. Joe Kopp (KTM); 8. Willie McCoy (Hon); 9. Rob Pearson (Hon); 10. Dave Durelle (Hon); 11. Kenny Coolbeth (KTM); 12. Brett Pankey (Hon); 13. Scooter Vernon (Hon); 14. Kyle Ragsdale (Hon); 15. Kenny Carlotta (Hon); 16. J.R. Schnabel (Yam); 17. Charlie Italia (Yam); 18. Gary Rogers (Hon).
Time: 11 min., 01.956 sec.
FORMULA USA K&N FILTERS PRO SERIES POINTS STANDINGS (After 9 of 9 rounds): 1. Bryan Smith (282/3 wins); 2. Terry Poovey (208/1 win); 3. Willie McCoy (176); 4. Dave Durelle (170/1 win); 5. Kenny Coolbeth (164/1 win); 6. Nick Cummings (162); 7. Jared Mees (160/1 win); 8. Rob Pearson (146/1 win); 9. Joe Kopp (146/1 win); 10. Dan Stanley (146); 11. J.R. Schnabel (140); 12.Logan Myers (120); 13. Kyle Ragsdale (108); 14. Jethro Halbert (108); 15. Rich King (78); 16. John Hlebo III (74); 17. Greg Teague (62); 18. Merle Scherb (56); 19. Scooter Vernon (54); 20. Jake Johnson (48).

MEMPHIS SHADES TWINS CHALLENGE (15 laps; 12 riders): 1. Geo Roeder II (H-D); 2. Kevin Varnes (Suz); 3. A.J. Eslick (Suz); 4. Jared Mees (H-D); 5. Willie McCoy (H-D); 6. Jess Roeder (H-D); 7. Joe Kopp (KTM); 8. Mike Inderbitzin (H-D); 9. J.R. Schnabel (H-D); 10. Rob Pearson (H-D); 11. Gary Rogers (H-D); 12. Kenny Coolbeth (H-D).
Time: 9 min., 48.813 sec.

By Scott Rousseau