Hawkins Wins at Delaware National Enduro

Kit Palmer | October 28, 2002

Yamaha-mounted Randy Hawkins scored the overall win at the Delaware City, Delaware, round of the AMA FMF National Enduro Series, yesterday. Husqvarna’s Fred Hoess took second, followed by Yamaha riders Barry Hawk Jr. and Robbie Jenks, and Gas Gas-mounted Rodney Judson.

Defending champ Mike Lafferty (KTM) suffered a mechanical problem that resulted in a DNF. With just one round left and no throwaways, Lafferty leads Hoess by just one point, 140-139. Hawkins is third with 131 points. So, the 2002 title will be decided at the final round in New Paris, Indiana, this weekend.

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.