ISDE Team Announced

Paul Carruthers | July 10, 2002

The AMA has named the entire American contingent that will compete in the 77th running of the International Six Days Enduro (ISDE), to be held September 24-29, 2002 in Jablonec nad Nisou, Czech Republic.

Three members from last year’s World Trophy Team – Fred Hoess, David Pearson and Nick Pearson – will join Tim Taber, Ron Schmelzle and Brian Sperle to form the 2002 Trophy team.

The four-member Junior Trophy team, which is limited to riders 23 years old and younger, will include Morgan Crawford, Wallace Palmer, Jonathan Seehorn and Dylan Debel.

For the first time in ISDE history, the U.S. squad will include one three-member club team composed entirely of riders from one family. Veteran enduro racers Randy, Amanda and Cody Mastin of Whitehouse, Ohio, will compete as “Family ‘R US.” Another 30 riders have been assigned to 10 other three-member club teams.

While only a handful of America’s top off-road competitors will get the chance to compete in the 77th ISDE, interested spectators can also become a part of the ISDE experience – and tour the Czech Republic – with a tour put together by AMA Travel. The Team USA ISDE Tour runs September 17 through September 30, and includes round-trip airfare from New York to Prague via Czech Airlines; three-star accommodations for 12 nights in Harrachov; breakfast and dinner daily; car rental with unlimited mileage; an official Team USA jacket; and two matching Team USA T-shirts. The price is $1820 per person, double occupancy. For more information on the tour, call 800/262-5646, ext. 1196.

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.