Pichon Claims 250 MX World Crown

Cycle News Staff | August 19, 2001

Team Corona Suzuki’s Mickael Pichon won his first ever world championship by claiming the 2001 World 250cc MX title in winning style at today’s German GP in Gaildorf, the 11th of 14 rounds in the championship.

The 25-year-old Frenchman needed only four points to claim his first title. He led from start to finish, ending the race almost five seconds clear of second placed Chad Reed of Kawasaki. In taking his eighth win of the season, the Frenchman took his championship points total to an insurmountable 248 points, 92 points clear of Irishman Gordon Crockard; 12th today after a horrible start and first lap crash, with three rounds still to go.

“For the entire race I was focused on winning, but the last three or four laps were the worst of my life,” Pichon said. “I was feeling so tired, I guess I was riding on my nerves. On the last lap I was starting to worry that something might break, the engine, the suspension. It was silly, I knew the bike was perfect as always, but it was a great relief to pass the checkered flag and know I was the new world champion.”

Pichon’s Corona Suzuki team-mate Josh Coppins joined Pichon on the podium by finishing in third place. The Kiwi Coppins has now moved to fifth place in the championship.

“After the disasters I have suffered this season, to climb up onto the podium again is a great feeling,” Coppins said. “Only last week I was down and out in the first turn and I have had to fight the pain away this week, but a result like this makes it all worth while. I underwent extensive physiotherapy treatment to get me loose but I decided to race in a Belgian championship race on Wednesday, a national holiday. That helped to loosen me up but, by the end of the race, I could hardly lift my left leg through the corners and it was getting harder over the jumps. I still think that I can do better than third, but I’d need to be in better physical shape.”


1 Mickael Pichon (Suzuki)

2 Chad Reed (Kawasaki)

3 Joshua Coppins (Suzuki)

4 Yves Demaria (Yamaha)

5 Johnny Aubert (Yamaha)

6 Frederic Bolley (Honda)

7 Collin Dugmore (KTM)

8 Claudio Federici (Yamaha)

9 Danny Theybers (KTM)

10 Pierrick Paget (Honda)

11 Jussi-Pekka Vehvilainen (Honda)

12 Gordon Crockard (Honda)

13 Mark Jones (Honda)

14 Jiri Cepelak (Yamaha)

15 Peter Iven (Kawasaki)

250cc Motocross World Championship Point Standings (After 11 of 14 rounds):

1 Mickael Pichon 248

2 Gordon Crockard 156

3 Claudio Federici 132

4 Chad Reed 129

5 Joshua Coppins 110

6 Frederic Bolley 106

7 Pit Beirer 102

8 Yves Demaria 80

9 Jussi-Pekka Vehvilainen 68

10 Danny Theybers 57