Holding Pattern at Du Quoin Mile

| October 16, 2000
Afternoon showers delayed the final race of the AMA’s Progressive Insurance U.S. Flat Track Championship at the Du Quoin Mile on Sunday, October 15. Corbin Racing/Dave Burks Motorsports/Harley-Davidson of Missouri’s Joe Kopp and Moroney’s Harley-Davidson/Fasthog.com/Gould Erectors’ Will Davis will have to wait one more day to settle their year long battle for the AMA’s number one plate.

The program had already been altered to four heats with the top five moving right into the main. The first heat was completed, with Chris Carr leading Dan Stanley, Willie McCoy, J.R. Schnabel and Gary Rogers into the National line-up. As things stand, the remainder of the program and the Harley-Davidson Sportster Performance National and the SuperTrapp SuperTracker National will also be held.

Defending HDSP Series Champion DPC Racing/Tilley Harley-Davidson/Kegel MC-backed Willie McCoy has a narrow six point lead over Frieze’s Harley-Davidson/Roger Gutterridge’s Scott Stump. Paul Morgan sits on the pole for the main, with Nate Wait, Stump, Matt Wait, Gary Rogers and Brian Thomas filling out the front row. Row two will hold Billy Martin, Greg Teague, Scott Scherb, McCoy, Bryan Smith and Brian Kromroy. James Hart (still with an outside shot at the title), Roger Lee Hayden, Michelle Disalvo and Jason Tyer round out the field.

Joe Kopp has locked up the SuperTrapp SuperTracker series, but it’s his Corbin Racing teammate, Kenny Coolbeth sitting on the pole for the main. Mike Hacker, Kopp, J.R. Schnabel, Willie McCoy and Gary Rogers hold front row slots. Row two belongs to Jerry Vanderkooi, Bob Buffington, Brian Kromroy, Roy Miller, James Hart, Jason Tyer, Victor McAnally, Nate Wait, Brian Thomas and Paul Morgan.


By Dave Hoenig