Poovey Powerful at Fort Worth Half Mile

| August 28, 2000
USC Racing/1stlegal.com’s Terry Poovey grabbed the holeshot aboard his Teddy Poovey-tuned Rotax and stormed to victory at the Formula USA/Wrenchead.com Fort Worth Half Mile at Texas Motor Speedway on August 26, leading all 25 laps of the National feature, with current AMA Grand National Champion Chris Carr finishing second aboard his own Wrenchead.com/H-D of Sacramento sponsored, Kenny Tolbert-tuned Rotax. The second-place finish moves Carr into the Formula USA/Wrenchead.com National Dirt Track Series Points lead as the SFX Motor Sports Group-promoted series heads to the West Coast. Former AMA Rookie of the Year J.R. Schnabel piloted his Team Powell/West Bend H-D-backed XR750 to third place after Jay Springsteen crashed in turn one while holding the position with about five laps to go. Springer was unhurt in the crash.

Kenny Noyes dominated the Wrenchead.com Pro Singles feature, inheriting the lead after Chris Carr was forced to pull off due to mechanical ills. Noyes then held off a determined Bryan Smith for the win, one which was made all the more impressive by the fact that Noyes was riding with two fractured bones in his right arm. Those injuries were the result of a crash at the Peoria TT two weeks ago. Wisconsin rider Michael Gilkey put in an impressive ride of his own, throttling a 1971 BSA B50-powered 500cc single to third place, the ancient machine fitting in nicely under the Formula USA Pro Singles rules structure, which is designed to increase the variety of brands in competition.

Here are the results of both features:

NATIONAL (25 laps; 18 riders): 1. Terry Poovey (Rtx); 2. Chris Carr (Rtx); 3. J.R. Schnabel (H-D); 4. Charlie Orr (CCM); 5. Greg Tysor (Rtx); 6. Bryan Smith (ATK); 7. Jason Tyer (H-D); 8. Tim Eades (H-D); 9. Gary Rogers (H-D); 10. Brandon Cartwright (Rtx); 11. Don Wilson (Rtx); 12. Beau Brown (CCM); 13. Jennifer Snyder (Rtx); 14. Clayton Hull (ATK); 15. Jay Springsteen (H-D); 16. Greg Teague (Rtx); 17. A.J. Eslick (Yam); 18. Kenny Noyes (Hbg).
Time: 8 mins., 39.920 secs.

PRO SGL (14 laps; 15 riders): 1. Kenny Noyes (Hbg); 2. Bryan Smith (ATK); 3. Michael Gilkey (BSA); 4. Jennifer Snyder (Rtx); 5. Jason Tyer (Yam); 6. Charlie Orr (CCM); 7. Beau Brown (CCM); 8. J.R. Schnabel (W-R); 9. Brandon Cartwright (Rtx); 10. Blane Fore; 11. Joel Henson (Rtx); 12. Charley Kennedy (Rtx); 13. A.J. Eslick (KTM); 14. Chris Carr (Rtx); 15. Gregory Archer (KTM).
Time: No time due to restart.


By Scott Rousseau