Carmichael Sweeps

| August 13, 2000

Team Chevy Trucks Kawasaki’s Ricky Carmichael jumped one step closer to his first 250cc National Championship as he swept both motos at the rough Spring Creek Motocross Park in Millville, Minnesota. Carmichael gained 18 points on his closest championship rival, Team Honda’s Sebastian Tortelli, as the Frenchman raced to a 4-7 fourth overall. Team Yamaha’s David Vuillemin finished second overall via his 3-2 placing and Factory Connection/Competition Accessories Mike LaRocco took third overall (5-3).

In the 125cc class, it was Team Suzuki’s Travis Pastrana who took his third overall win of the year. Pastrana’s cruised to both moto victorys, while Yamaha of Troy’s Ernesto Fonseca had his best finish of the year as he went 2-3 for second overall. Pro Circuit/Splitfire’s Tallon Vohland was third overall. Points leader Stephane Roncada had a tough day going 7-6 for fifth overall and Honda rider Steve Lamson sat out the second moto after injuring his knee the first time out.

250cc: 1. Ricky Carmichael (Kaw) 2. David Vuillemin (Yam); 3. Mike LaRocco (Hon); 4. Sebastian Tortelli (Hon); 5. Tim Ferry (Yam).

125cc: 1. Travis Pastrana (Suz); 2. Ernesto Fonseca (Yam); 3. Tallon Vohland (Kaw); 4. Nathan Ramsey (Kaw); 5. Stephane Roncada (Yam).

By Freelance