Kopp Tops FUSA Plymouth Short Track

| June 8, 2002
Jones Powersports/KTM rider Joe Kopp grabbed the holeshot and led all 25 laps of the Formula USA Pro Singles main event at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wisconsin, to notch his first National dirt track win of the year.

Kopp was away first in what turned out, for the most part, to be a follow-the-leader main event on the slick, smooth quarter mile. Kopp’s former teammate, Kenny Coolbeth, also KTM-mounted, took up residence in the runner-up spot and remained there for the duration to give the KTM brand a one-two finish, with factory Harley-Davidson rider Rich King coming home third aboard his Buell Blast-powered Harley-Davidson XR500.

Reigning Formula USA National Dirt Track Champion Terry Poovey finished fourth, the front-running quartet coming across the line in a tight pack at the checkered flag. Poovey now leads the series points standings, with 102. King and Kopp are now tied for second, with 90. Schnabel and Chris Carr, the latter not present at Plymouth, are tied with 80.

The racing was better toward the rear, especially after polesitter J.R. Schnabel was forced to come from the penalty line after jumping the start. Schnabel hacked and slashed his way through the pack to eventually find himself in a battle with Hooters Suzuki’s Larry Pegram and Lancaster Harley-Davidson’s Bryan Bigelow. Schnabel made his way past Pegram in the middle stages of the race after Pegram gambled with an outside pass attempt in turns three and four, but Bigelow remained steadfast in fifth place, clearly running a slower pace than the other two riders but riding a disciplined race to lock up fifth place.

1. Joe Kopp (KTM)

2. Kenny Coolbeth (KTM)

3. Rich King (H-D)

4. Terry Poovey (ATK)

5. Bryan Bigelow (Hon)

6. J.R. Schnabel (Hon)

7. Larry Pegram (Suz)

8. Mearle Scherb (Rtx)

9. Dan Stanley (Hon)

10. A.J. Eslick (Rtx)

By Scott Rousseau