Antonio Cairoli won both motos at the Motocross Grand Prix at Lommel. Photography by Ray Archer KTM Images

Antonio Cairoli claimed the MXGP overall win with 1-1 motos at Lommel. Photography by Ray Archer/KTM Images

Red Bull KTM’s Antonio Cairoli and BikeIT Yamaha Cosworth’s Max Anstie claimed the overall wins at the FIM World Motocross Championship in Lommel, Belgium, August 3. For Cairoli, it was his 72nd career GP win and the first for the Brit, Anstie.

Cairoli won both the MXGP motos, the second held in a torrential downpour, but that didn’t seem to bother the defending champ who racked up his ninth win of the season after 15 rounds held so far.

“It’s nice to win my 72nd Grand Prix in the land of the best rider, number 72 Stefan Everts,” said Cairoli.

Cairoli’s teammate Ken De Dycker claimed second overall after announcing that he’s going to sit out the next two and final rounds of the championship to rest an injured wrist that he’s been dealing with all season. The Belgian went 4-2 on the day.

Shaun Simpson, on the Hitachi Construction KTM, saw a lot of three’s on the day. The Brit finished third in both MXGP motos for third overall.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Gautier Paulin and Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Kevin Strijbos rounded out the top five overall, with Paulin going 2-4 and Strijbos 5-8.

  Great Britains Max Anstie captured his first career Grand Prix win in the MX2 class at Lommel. Photography by Yamaha Racing

Great Britain’s Max Anstie enjoyed his first career Grand Prix victory in MX2. Photography by Yamaha Racing

Despite sitting out the sighting laps in both motos with bike problems, Anstie put it all together to nail his first moto win and Grand Prix victory of his career with 1-2 moto finishes. He finished second to Red Bull KTM’s Jordi Tixier of France in the second moto, but Tixier’s third place in moto one relegated him to second overall for the day.

A 3-2 gave French rider Dylan Ferrandis, on the CLS Kawasaki Monster Energy KX250F, third overall.

Husqvarna’s Romain Febvre (4-4) and Honda Gariboldi’s Tim Gajser (8-6) completed the top five overall.

Jeffrey Herlings, who is sidelined with a broken leg, still leads the MX2 championship point standings over Tixier, 594-537.

In the MXGP class, Cairoli holds a commanding lead over Jeremy Van Horebeek (eighth at Lommel) and could clinch the title at the next round.


2014 FIM World Motocross Championship

Round 15

August 3, 2014

Lommel Circuit

Lommel, Belgium

MXGP Race 1 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 34:22.254; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:03.902; 3. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:04.930; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:16.506; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:21.324; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), +0:26.489; 7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:45.874; 8. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Husqvarna), +0:47.105; 9. Dean Ferris (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:48.268; 10. Marc de Reuver (NED, Honda), +1:06.632.

MXGP Race 2 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 34:46.942; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:08.481; 3. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:19.123; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:25.772; 5. Marc de Reuver (NED, Honda), +0:32.921; 6. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:35.867; 7. Dean Ferris (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:40.127; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:46.294; 9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +1:01.185; 10. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Husqvarna), +1:08.384.

MXGP Overall top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 40 p.; 3. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 40 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, KAW), 40 p.; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 29 p.; 6. Marc de Reuver (NED, HON), 27 p.; 7. Dean Ferris (AUS, HUS), 26 p.; 8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 26 p.; 9. Tyla Rattray (RSA, HUS), 24 p.; 10. Steven Frossard (FRA, KAW), 23 p.

MXGP World Championship Classification Top Ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 669 points; 2. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 588 p.; 3. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 498 p.; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 484 p.; 5. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 365 p.; 6. Steven Frossard (FRA, KAW), 356 p.; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HON), 307 p.; 8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, KAW), 275 p.; 9. Davide Guarneri (ITA, TM), 245 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, YAM), 234 p.


MX2 Race 1 top ten: 1. Max Anstie (GBR, Yamaha), 34:00.529; 2. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:16.077; 3. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:17.169; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:31.690; 5. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), +0:54.482; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:56.421; 7. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, Husqvarna), +1:01.447; 8. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +1:06.292; 9. Valentin Guillod (SUI, KTM), +1:15.713; 10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +1:20.785.

MX2 Race 2 top ten: 1. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 35:28.225; 2. Max Anstie (GBR, Yamaha), +0:12.447; 3. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:20.711; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:28.187; 5. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +0:40.276; 6. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:47.124; 7. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, Husqvarna), +0:50.563; 8. Valentin Guillod (SUI, KTM), +1:12.744; 9. Petar Petrov (BUL, Yamaha), +1:20.275; 10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +1:22.513.

MX2 Overall top ten: 1. Max Anstie (GBR, YAM), 47 points; 2. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 45 p.; 3. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 42 p.; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, HUS), 36 p.; 5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 28 p.; 6. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, HUS), 28 p.; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 26 p.; 8. Valentin Guillod (SUI, KTM), 25 p.; 9. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 25 p.; 10. Petar Petrov (BUL, YAM), 22 p.

MX2 World Championship Classification Top Ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 594 points; 2. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 537 p.; 3. Romain Febvre (FRA, HUS), 489 p.; 4. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 467 p.; 5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 448 p.; 6. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KAW), 389 p.; 7. Valentin Guillod (SUI, KTM), 379 p.; 8. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, HUS), 363 p.; 9. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 337 p.; 10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 301 p.


Cycle News Magazine

Open This Issue For Reading

FIM Motocross Photos

FIM Motocross News

By Cycle News Staff