Antonio Cairoli chalked up his 70th career MX GP win in Sweden. Photography by Ray Archer/KTM Images

Red Bull KTM’s Antonio Cairoli and Jeffrey Herlings dominated round 12 of the FIM Motocross World Championship at the Uddevalla Circuit in Sweden, July 6. Cairoli claimed his 70th Grand Prix victory of his career after going 1-1 in the MXGP (formerly MX1) division, while Herlings, on the verge of claiming his third title, easily swept both motos in the MX2 class.


After winning both motos, Cairoli said, “I’m very happy, I’ve been ill, so I didn’t expect a lot, but I have started to feel better and better on the bike over the last week which let me push more while training. I hope to keep going like this and try to be on top every weekend.”

Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jeremy Van Horebeek (3-2) finished out the day on the MXGP podium for the 11th time this season finishing second overall, while Rockstar Energy Suzuki World’s Kevin Strijbos (2-4) grabbed third overall.

Team HRC’s Max Nagl finished eighth in race one after a bad start but a third in the second moto gave the Honda rider fourth overall.

CLS Kawasaki Monster Energy’s Tommy Searle rounded out the top five overall with a 5-6.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki World’s Clement Desalle, who was right in the thick of the championship title chase, ended the day in the hospital after clipping the back wheel of his teammate Strijbos heading into turn one of the second moto, crashing spectacularly and getting pummeled by the rest of the field. The Belgian finished fourth in the first moto.

Jeffrey Herlings (84) is on the verge of clinching his third MX2 World Championship after scoring yet another win, this time at the Uddevalla Circuit in Sweden. Photography by Ray Archer/KTM Images


After winning both MX2 motos, Herlings, who set the fastest lap times of the day, said, “It was a great weekend. I feel stronger and stronger every week and keep dominating, so hopefully we can keep this rhythm going and hopefully win again next weekend in Finland and wrap the championship up in Loket.”

After seeing the doctor right before race two due to illness, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jordi Tixier gritted his teeth and raced. Tixier said, “I had to push to ride because I knew I needed it for the championship and actually it was good I decided to ride because I managed to finish second on the day, so I am really happy about my weekend, it cannot be better.”

Tixier went 4-2 for second overall.

Seventeen-year-old Honda Gariboldi rider Tim Gajser uncorked yet another bottle of champagne after posting a second- and sixth-place finishes for third overall.


FIM World Motocross Championship

Uddevalla, Sweden

Round 12

July 6, 2014

MXGP Race 1 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 35:22.421; 2. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:03.481; 3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:07.712; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:11.653; 5. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:15.019; 6. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:37.196; 7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:39.063; 8. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:42.436; 9. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), +0:50.853; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +1:03.013.

MXGP Race 2 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 33:52.052; 2. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:04.201; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), +0:09.408; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:14.361; 5. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:22.638; 6. Davide Guarneri (ITA, TM), +0:38.631; 7. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:40.791; 8. Matiss Karro (LAT, KTM), +0:42.619; 9. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:44.496; 10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:46.857.

MXGP Overall top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 42 p.; 3. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 40 p.; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HON), 32 p.; 5. Tommy Searle (GBR, KAW), 31 p.; 6. Steven Frossard (FRA, KAW), 28 p.; 7. David Philippaerts (ITA, YAM), 25 p.; 8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 25 p.; 9. Davide Guarneri (ITA, TM), 24 p.; 10. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 22 p.

MXGP World Championship Classification Top Ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 527 points; 2. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 482 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 470 p.; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 390 p.; 5. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 267 p.; 6. Steven Frossard (FRA, KAW), 265 p.; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HON), 237 p.; 8. David Philippaerts (ITA, YAM), 210 p.; 9. Davide Guarneri (ITA, TM), 207 p.; 10. Gautier Paulin (FRA, KAW), 205 p.

MXGP Manufacturer: 1. KTM, 527 points; 2. Suzuki, 508 p.; 3. Yamaha, 482 p.; 4. Kawasaki, 437 p.; 5. Honda, 372 p.; 6. TM, 235 p.; 7. Husqvarna, 230 p.


MX2 Race 1 top ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:00.721; 2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:43.692; 3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:50.859; 4. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:53.496; 5. Valentin Guillod (SUI, KTM), +0:54.640; 6. Julien Lieber (BEL, Suzuki), +0:55.972; 7. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), +0:58.803; 8. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +1:00.791; 9. Max Anstie (GBR, Yamaha), +1:01.535; 10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +1:07.030.

MX2 Race 2 top ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:06.319; 2. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:42.354; 3. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:45.082; 4. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, Husqvarna), +0:46.541; 5. Valentin Guillod (SUI, KTM), +0:49.060; 6. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:49.830; 7. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +0:50.272; 8. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), +1:01.822; 9. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +1:15.003; 10. Vsevolod Brylyakov (RUS, Honda), +1:18.202.

MX2 Overall top ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points; 2. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 40 p.; 3. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 37 p.; 4. Valentin Guillod (SUI, KTM), 32 p.; 5. Romain Febvre (FRA, HUS), 30 p.; 6. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 29 p.; 7. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, HUS), 28 p.; 8. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 27 p.; 9. Christophe Charlier (FRA, YAM), 27 p.; 10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 23 p.

MX2 World Championship Classification Top Ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 544 points; 2. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 409 p.; 3. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KAW), 389 p.; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, HUS), 388 p.; 5. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 372 p.; 6. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 350 p.; 7. Valentin Guillod (SUI, KTM), 288 p.; 8. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, HUS), 284 p.; 9. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 265 p.; 10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 234 p.

MX2 Manufacturer: 1. KTM, 574 points; 2. Kawasaki, 477 p.; 3. Husqvarna, 404 p.; 4. Honda, 360 p.; 5. Suzuki, 354 p.; 6. Yamaha, 317 p.; 7. TM, 6 p.

Cycle News Magazine

Open This Issue For Reading

FIM Motocross Photos

FIM Motocross News

By Cycle News Staff