The James Stewart Spring Championship wrapped up at Freeston. PHOTOGRAPHY BY SHEA FOUCHEK

The 450 A Pro/Sport class funnels through the first turn at Freestone. Keith Tucker (641) claimed the class title. PHOTOGRAPHY BY SHEA FOUCHEK

WORTHAM, TEXAS, MARCH 23, 2014 - The dust has settled and the roost has finally stopped flying at the James Stewart Spring MX Championship at Freestone County Raceway in Wortham, Texas. After nearly a week’s worth of racing, champions were crowned among the 1300 entrants.

Of the many title recipients, none was perhaps more successful than Missouri’s Lance Kobusch. The Monster Energy Kawasaki-backed rider went home with three titles and finished second in two other classes. Kobusch captured the gold in the 85 (9-13), and (12-14) Limited and Modified classes, as well as taking runner-up honors in the Mini Sr. (12-13) Limited and Mini Sr. (12-14) Modified classes.

Hannah Hodges of Florida was another three-time champ. The Suzuki rider took first-place honors in the Girls Sr. (12-16), Schoolgirl (12-16) and Women’s (14+) division.

The JS7 race also hosted the second round of the Women’s MX Championship Series and Australia’s Mackenzie Tricker (Yamaha) claimed the overall win with 2-1 moto scores. Brandy Richards (Honda) was second overall with a 1-3, and Taylor Higgins was third overall with a 4-2 (Kawasaki).

Monster Energy/Kawasaki Team Green’s Austin Forkner had a big week. He swept the Supermini division, topping both the S/M 1 (12-15) and S/M 2 (13-16) division with perfect 1-1 moto scores.

In some of the big-bike classes, Ohio’s Aaron Plessinger, on the Rock River Yamaha, claimed the 250 A Pro/Sport Championship with 1-1-1 finishes over Keith Tucker.

Tucker, however, claimed the number-one title in the 450 A Pro/Sport class with 3-5-1 results.

Kawasaki Team Green Chris Alldredge, who had great success the week earlier at Oak Hill, suffered some bad luck at Freestone. After winning the first two 450 A Pro/Sport motos, a mechanical failure resulted in a DNF in moto three. He also suffered a mechanical issue in the first 250 A Pro/Sport moto that kept him out of the title hunt.

Maryland’s Alexander Frye had a successful week in Texas. The KTM rider won two championships in the Schoolboy 2 (13-16) and 250 B Modified classes, winning every moto.

Georgia’s Chase Bell (Kawasaki) claimed the win in the competitive 250 B Limited class with 2-1 moto scores.

Some other title winners included Conner Mullinnix (KTM, Mini Sr. 12-13 Limited), Cade Autenrieth (KTM, Mini Sr. 12-14 Modified), Ryder Difrancesco (Cobra, 51 Limited 7-8 and 4-8), Pierce Brown (KTM, 85cc 9-11 Limited), Stilez Robertson (Kaw, 85cc 9-11 Modified), Jake Masterpool (Yam, Schoolboy 1 12-16) and Josh Mosiman (KTM, Collegeboy 16-24).


Cycle News Magazine

Open This Issue For Reading

Amateur Motocross Photos

Amateur Motocross News

By Cycle News Staff