Jeremy Martin

Tooele, Utah (August 23, 2014) - Despite clinching the 250 Class title last weekend in Indiana, Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin topped off a stellar year with a 1-1 victory at the final round of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Series at Miller Motorsport Park in Tooele, Utah, this weekend.

Martin’s main competition in the first moto came from his teammate, Cooper Webb, who grabbed the holeshot to start the race. Martin applied consistent pressure after starting second, however, and was able to make the pass for the lead on Lap five. Once in front, Martin was untouchable and opened a comfortable margin that he was able to maintain throughout the remainder of the moto.

The battle for the final spot on the podium was between Rockstar Energy Racing teammates Joey Savatgy and Jason Anderson, Red Bull KTM's Marvin Musquin and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Blake Baggett.

Musquin fought his way into third on Lap 4, but was passed one lap later by Baggett and dropped to fourth.

At the end of the race, Martin took the win, his ninth moto win of the season, with 14 seconds to spare over Webb, with Baggett in third and Musquin fourth. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Chris Alldredge recorded a career-best fifth-place finish in just his third career pro start.

In the second moto, Martin passed Savatgy on the opening lap and pulled away, as Musquin and GEICO Honda's Justin Bogle moved around Savatgy on lap three.

Baggett, who got off to a bad start, was on the move, and made his way into third on lap 14.

At the finish, Martin took the win by 17 seconds over Bogle, with Baggett finishing third.

Baggett’s finish was just enough to let the Kawasaki rider pass Webb in the battle for second overall in the final standings.

"I found something with my bike setup that helped last week and I think that played a key factor in how comfortable I felt and how well I did today," said Martin. "To be able to go 1-1 today was nice because it shows why I won the championship. I got good starts and chose good lines and it all worked out really great. I wanted to really enjoy it today and I did."

Baggett's 3-3 scores earned the runner-up spot in the overall classification and also clinched second in the final 250 Class championship standings over Webb, who tied Baggett in points for the afternoon but finished third overall (2-4) following the second moto tiebreaker.

 "I showed up and rode my bike to the best of my abilities today. Some days I do that and some days I don't. It's as simple as that," explained Baggett. "The track was much better this year and I was able to fight my way to the front. I just charge all the way to the checkered flag and where I end up is where I end up. Today that was good enough for second."



1. Jeremy Martin (Yam) 1-1

2. Blake Baggett (Kaw) 3-3

3. Cooper Webb (Yam) 2-4

4. Justin Bogle (Hon) 6-2

5. Marvin Musquin (KTM) 4-5

6. Chris Alldredge (Kaw) 5-8

7. Joey Savatgy (KTM) 8-7

8. Dean Wilson (Kaw) 10-6

9. Zach Osborne (Hon) 7-9

10. R.J. Hampshire (Hon) 9-11



Cycle News Magazine

Open This Issue For Reading

AMA Motocross Photos

AMA Motocross News

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.