Dean Ferris gets his first. Photography By M. Zanzani Youthstream 2013

Dean Ferris gets his first. PHOTOGRAPHY BY M. ZANZANI/YOUTHSTREAM 2013

Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Clement Desalle and Monster Energy Yamaha’s Dean Ferris put a stop to KTM domination of World Motocross Grand Prix by winning their respective classes at the Belgian Grand Prix at Bastogne, August 18. Not only was it the first time this year that a KTM wasn’t on the top step of the podium, it was also Desalle’s first time winning in front of his home crowd and Ferris’ first overall win in MX2.

The first moto went to Red Bull KTM’s Antonio Cairoli with Desalle following him in second the whole race. Desalle’s attempt to chase down Cairoli on the last lap resulted in a crash, but the Belgian was able to recover quickly and keep second.

It was a different story in the second moto as Desalle took the lead from Cairoli in the second turn and would not look back all the way to the checkered flag.

Honda World Motocross’ Evgeny Bobryshev finished both motos in third.

Unfortunately for Cairoli’s MX2 counterpart, Jeffrey Herlings’ quest for the undefeated season came to an end, as he had to withdraw from the race with a dislocated shoulder that he suffered the day before during qualifying. He left for home early to have the shoulder examined by his doctor. He is doubtful to return for the next race and is worried that his recovery time might be longer than first thought.

In Herlings absence, it was Ferris who had the perfect weekend, dominating qualifying and winning both motos. Herling’s teammate Jordi Tixier finished second overall (2-5). Another KTM rider, Glen Coldenhoff, followed Tixier in third, finishing eighth in moto one and second in moto two.

2013 Belgian Grand Prix MX1 Overall Results:

1. Clement Desalle (Suzuki) 2-1

2. Antonio Cairoli (KTM) 1-2

3. Evgeny Bobryshev (Honda) 3-3

4. Kevin Strijbos (Suzuki) 7-4

5. Jeremy van Horebeek (Kawasaki) 5-5

6. Ken de Dycker (KTM)6-8

7. Tommy Searle (Kawasaki) 9-6

8. Shaun Simpson (Yamaha) 8-10

9. David Philippaerts (Honda) 12-7

10. Joel Roelants (Yamaha) 11-9

2013 Belgian Grand Prix MX2 Overall Results:

1. Dean Ferris (Yamaha) 1-1

2. Jordi Tixier (KTM) 2-5

3. Glenn Coldenhoff (KTM) 8-2

4. Jose Butron (KTM) 7-3

5. Romain Febvre (KTM) 5-4

6. Christophe Charlier (Yamaha) 3-7

7. Maxime Desprey (Yamaha) 4-11

8. Jake Nicholls (KTM) 11-6

9. Jason Clermont (Kawasaki) 10-12

10. Max Anstie (Suzuki) 9-13



Cycle News Magazine

Open This Issue For Reading

FIM Motocross Photos

FIM Motocross News

By Cycle News Staff