Ricky Renner

Ricky Renner held off heavy pressure from Kyle Chisholm and Nick Wey to claim top prize at the inaugural $50K Edge of Summer MX at the famed Soaring Eagle Resort & Casino, in Mount Pleasant, Michigan, this past weekend.

Renner grabbed the holeshot to start the 20-lap main event, but was soon passed by Chisholm on lap 12. However, Chisholm went down had moments after taking the lead, leaving Wey to take over the pursuit of Renner, but a mid-pack start for Wey would put him too far back of Renner to close the gap by the end of the race.

“I knew the holeshot would be important,” said Renner. “I built a good lead, but Chisholm was able to reel me in and make the pass for the lead. I tucked in right behind him, but we ran into a lapper and Kyle took the high line, got some wheel spin and went down … pretty hard.”

Wey, certainly one of the favorites heading into the contest, did not get out of the start the way he’d have liked, and was running barely inside the top ten during the first several laps.

“I did well in the supercross portion of the track, maybe not so well in the motocross sections,” said Wey. “I wish I’d have got a better start to keep him honest, but Ricky rode excellent and certainly deserved the win tonight.”

Mitchell Oldenburb moved into third place by the end of the race, rounding out the podium in front of Jimmy Albertson and James Decotis.                 

In Vet Pro action it was a battle of longtime AMA Arenacross greats as Ohio’s Jeff Gibson started strong early and kept his momentum going through the hard fought 12-lap contest to top Michigan’s Kelly Smith and double 2014 Loretta Lynn’s Amateur National champ John Grewe. And in Super Mini action a couple of former Michigan-made Cobra Moto mini cycle pilots – Chase Sexton (IL) and Joey Crown (MI) – distanced themselves from the rest of the pack in a great duel that saw Sexton, the Rockwell Rocket watch winner for fastest practice lap, hold on versus a hard-charging Crown. Canada’s Tanner Ward would place 3rd in that contest.

Edge of Summer MX Pro Results

1. Ricky Renner            

2. Nick Wey                             

3. Mitchell Oldenburg             

4. Jimmy Albertson                 

5. James Decotis                 

6. Levi Kilbarger                      

7. Jeff Gibson                           

8. Travis Sewell                        

9. Heath Harrison                    

10. Josh Osby                              


Cycle News Magazine

Open This Issue For Reading

AMA Motocross Photos

AMA Motocross News

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.