2014 250 Washougal winner Marvin Musquin. Photography by Steve Cox

Marvin Musquin was on a mission at Washougal. He was the top 250 qualifier and won both motos. Photography by Steve Cox.

The Red Bull KTM team has gone 1-1 plenty of times in both the 450cc and 250cc classes in the Lucas Oil/AMA National Motocross Championships over the years, but until today at Washougal, according to the team, they hadn’t done it in both classes. The fact that Ryan Dungey and Marvin Musquin both went 1-1 in their respective classes today actually doesn’t even fully illustrate their domination, as the two riders also managed to qualify first in both of their classes.

After watching his teammate Dungey win both 450 motos, Musquin capped off the Washougal National with a 1-1 sweep of his own. The former MX2 World Champion was on his A-game at Washougal. He was dominant all day long.

Musquin’s qualifying time was a full 1.5 seconds faster than anyone else in the class, and it translated to the races as well. Points leader Jeremy Martin, on the Yamahalube/Star Racing Yamaha, led moto one early, only for Musquin to come from about fifth off the start to take over the lead five laps into the race and pull away for the win.

Fellow Frenchman Christophe Pourcel, on the Valli Yamaha, battled with Martin, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett and Yamahalube/Star Racing Yamaha’s Cooper Webb to secure second in the moto in front of Webb, Martin and Baggett, who fell after he took second from Pourcel at about the halfway point.

In moto two, Musquin had to come from behind again, and at the halfway point, he was still trying to catch early leader Justin Bogle on the GEICO Honda. However, Bogle started going backward, some of which having to do with a crash, soon thereafter, and Musquin capitalized to take a commanding the lead and the victory, his first since High Point last year.

Baggett ended up finishing second in front of Bogle, Martin and Webb.

Martin now leads the championship by 43 points over Webb with six motos left to run.

The series goes on hiatus this coming weekend and then returns to action at Unadilla for round 10 of the 12-round series.


2014 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship

Washougal MX Park

Washougal, Washington

July 26, 2014


1. Marvin Musquin (KTM) 1-1

2. Blake Baggett (Kaw) 5-2

3. Jeremy Martin (Yam) 4-4

4. Cooper Webb (Yam) 3-5

5. Justin Bogle (Hon) 7-3

6. Joey Savatgy (KTM) 6-7

7. Dean Wilson (Kaw) 8-6

8. Christophe Pourcel (Yam) 2-15

9. Cole Seely (Hon) 9-9

10. Jessy Nelson (11-10)

Cycle News Magazine

Open This Issue For Reading

AMA Motocross Photos

AMA Motocross News

By Steve Cox