Adam Cianciarulo captured his third win at the Detroit Supercross. Photography by Shan Moore

Adam Cianciarulo captured his third win of the series. Photography by Shan Moore

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo claimed his third East 250 Supercross win of the series. Cianciarulo took advantage of a crash by his teammate Marin Davalos on the third lap, taking over the lead and never looking back.

Davalos, who won his heat race earlier in the evening, grabbed the holeshot in the main event only to wash out and go down in a turn during the third lap, handing the lead over to Cianciarulo and second place to GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle. Davalos got up in third.

Bogle kept Cianciarulo honest for most of the race and was just over a second behind the Kawasaki rider at the halfway point. But Bogle could never quite catch the flying Cianciarulo and crossed the finish line three seconds behind the three-time winner by the time it was all over. It was, however, Bogle’s best ever Supercross finish.

Cianciarulo was thrilled to get the win.

“This year has started off great,” said Cianciarulo. “This was a very nerve-racking race for me because if I made one mistake, I would have given the race away. Overall, it was a great race, but it is only the fifth stop of the season, and there is a lot of racing left.”

Bogle said, “I am happy to be able to be out front and battling for a win. I hope to keep doing this the rest of the season and pick up that first win.”

Davalos, who fell again later in the race and finished sixth, now trails Cianciarulo by 17 points in the championship.

Third on the night was Cianciarulo’s teammate Blake Baggett, who was the previous winner at Daytona. Baggett suffered a poor start and was ninth after the first lap. He finished 21 seconds out of first.

Fourth went to Smartop/MotoConcept’s Kyle Cunningham, followed by Matt Lemoine, Davalos, Vince Friese, Jeremy Martin, Alex Martin and James Decotis.


1. Adam Cianciarulo Kawasaki

2. Justin Bogle Honda

3. Blake Baggett Kawasaki

4. Kyle Cunningham Honda

5. Matthew Lemoine Kawasaki

6. Martin Davalos Kawasaki

7. Vince Friese Honda

8. Jeremy Martin Yamaha

9. Alex Martin Yamaha

10. James Decostis Honda

EAST 250 POINTS STANDINGS (After 5 of 8 rounds)

1. Adam Cianciarulo 119

2. Martin Davalos 102

3. Blake Baggett 99

4. Justin Bogle 94

5. Vince Friese 75

6. Kyle Cunningham 63

7. Cole Thompson 58

8. James Decotis 54

9. Matthew Lemoine 53       

10. Blake Wharton 51     


Cycle News Magazine

Open This Issue For Reading

AMA Supercross Photos

AMA Supercross News

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.