Dean Wilson

Daytona Beach, Florida (March 8, 2014) – In a session that was plagued by crashes, Dean Wilson turned a few heads by turning the fastest time in qualifying for tonight’s Daytona Supercross by Honda.

Eli Tomac, Ryan Villopoto, and Justin Barcia all went down on a track that was obviously becoming more and more treacherous as the day wore on. Villopoto and Barcia both remounted and finished practice, while Tomac walked off the track on his own power.

Wilson’s time of 1:05.968 was fastest, the Discount Tire/TwoTwo Motorsports rider clearly dominating the session. Meanwhile, Ryan Villopoto’s 1:06.218 was next, however, the Monster Energy Kawasaki rider’s fastest time came before his crash.

Third fastest was James Stewart on his Yoshimura Suzuki, with a 1:06.265. Meanwhile Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey was just a tick slower at 1:06.324.

Ken Roczen rounded out the top five with a 1:06.365 on his Red Bull KTM.

The second half of the top 10 looked like Mike Alessi at 1:06. 567, Josh Hill with a 1:06.712, Justin Brayton with a 1:06.853, Wil Hahn with a 1:06.915, and Justin Barcia with a 1:06.960. 

Cycle News Magazine

Open This Issue For Reading

AMA Supercross Photos

AMA Supercross News

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.