Martin Davalos

Atlanta, Georgia (February 22, 2014)- Starting his sixth year in the class, Martin Davalos finally put it all together to take a main event win in the 250 SX Regional Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series, by turning in a dominating ride in Atlanta’s Georgia Dome.

The Monster Energy Pro Circuit rider passed teammate and first round winner Adam Cianciarulo on the opening lap of the 15-lap feature and then put down another 14 solid laps to take the victory.

After qualifying through the LCQ, Cianciarulo grabbed the holeshot to start the main event, however, Davalos took the lead the lead on lap one when Cianciarulo bobbled in the rhythm section. Once in the lead, Davalos started to pull away, and by the halfway mark he held a five-second lead over Cianciarulo. However, Davalos cooled his jets on the final lap and took the checkers with just over two seconds to spare over Cianciarulo to take a popular win.

“This has been a long time coming,” said Davalos. “I’m just so happy to be able to give this win to my team, and I want to thank all the people who never gave up on me.”

Finishing third was Justin Bogle, who started the race in seventh on the opening lap. The GEICO Honda rider was impressive in getting his first podium since 2012, considering he has only been on the bike for three weeks after spending the last few months recovering from a back injury.

“I didn’t get a good start and I had to fight through the pack,” said Bogle. “I was able to take advantage of a few mistake, and everything worked out for me.”

Bogle’s teammate Blake Wharton finished fourth, while Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Wharton came back from a poor start to finish fifth.

With two rounds in the books, Cianciarulo leads the series standings by two points  over Davalos, with Baggett in third another seven points back.


Eastern Regional 250SX Class Results

1. Martin Davalos (Kaw)

2. Adam Cianciarulo (Kaw)

3. Justin Bogle (Hon)

4. Blake Wharton (Hon)

5. Blake Baggett (Kaw)

6. Vince Friese (Hon)

7. James DeCotis (Hon)

8. Cole Thomson (KTM)

9. Matt Lemoine (Kaw)

10. Michael Oldenburg (Hon)

Cycle News Magazine

Open This Issue For Reading

AMA Supercross Photos

AMA Supercross News

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.