2017 Le Mans 24 Hour Qualifying Results

Rennie Scaysbrook | April 14, 2017
Endurance World Championship
De Puniet’s form has been scintillating at his home track.

Team SRC Kawasaki will start from pole for the 2017 Le Mans 24 Hour after a lap-breaking performance from Randy De Puniet.

The former MotoGP rider lapped the venue in 1:35.730s to dispose of Australian Broc Parkes and the Yamaha Austria Racing Team (YART), who had set a provisional pole time of 1:35.996, itself another lap record.

Third on the grid for Le Mans 2017 will be the GMT94 Yamaha outfit of David Checa, Niccolo Canepa and Mike Di Meglio, over one second behind the top two teams with a lap of 1:37.003s. Team Tecmas BMW (Kenny Foray, Mathieu Lussiana and Camille Hedelin) and Superstock team Yamaha Viltaïs Experience (Axel Maurin, Bastien Mackles and Florian Alt) complete the top five in France.

The 2017 Le Mans 24 Hour will be round two of the season. For this year, the championship has been split into a 2016/2017 format, with round one, the Bol d’Or 24 Hour at Paul Ricard in France last September, going to the Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (SERT). SERT, sixth in qualifying at Le Mans, currently leads the championship on 60 points from SRC Kawasaki and EVA Trick Star Racing, who qualified 13th at Le Mans.




Rennie Scaysbrook | Road Test Editor Our newest member of staff is our Road Test Editor Rennie Scaysbrook. A lifetime rider, the Aussie made the trek across the Pacific to live the dream in the U.S. of A.