Kailub Russell Wins John Penton GNCC

Cycle News Staff | June 9, 2014

(Left to right) Josh Strang, Kailub Russell and Jordan Ashburn made up the John Penton GNCC XC1 podium in Ohio. Photography by Ken Hill

MILLFIELD, OH, JUNE 8 – It was a walk in the park for FMF/KTM’s Kailub Russell at the John Penton GNCC in Ohio. Without rival and teammate Charlie Mullins (who is out with an injury) on the starting line, Russell was able to run away with his fifth win of the 2014 Amsoil GNCC Series.

Russell got out in front after passing holeshotter Paul Whibley early in the race and never looked back, taking the win with more than two minutes to spare over XC2 Pro Lites-class winner Grant Baylor.

AmPro Yamaha’s Josh Strang took the checkered flag nine seconds behind Baylor for third overall and second in the XC1 Pro class. Jordan Ashburn and Paul Whibley were next across the line, making it an AmPro Yamaha 3-4-5 finish.

KTM rider Nick Davis was the next-best XC2 Pro Lites rider in 10th overall. He finished approximately four minutes behind Baylor.

Third in XC2 Pro Lites was Yamaha-mounted Ricky Russell who finished a little over a minute behind Davis.

In the Women’s class, FMF/KTM’s Kacy Martinez capped off a busy weekend with another victory. Two days earlier, she claimed a Gold medal at the Austin X Games in the Women’s EnduroCross.


Wiseco John Penton GNCC

Millfield, Ohio

Round 8 of 13

Sunday, June 8

XC1 Event Results:

1. Kailub Russell (KTM)

2. Josh Strang (YAM)

3. Jordan Ashburn (YAM)

4. Paul Whibley (YAM)

5. Steward Baylor (KTM)

6. Chris Bach (HON)

7. Thad DuVall (HON)

8. Andrew Delong (HSQ)

9. Takeshi Koideka (HON)

10. Jason Thomas (KTM)

Overall National Championship Standings:

1. Kailub Russell (203)

2. Charlie Mullins (180)

3. Josh Strang (153)

4. Jordan Ashburn (129)

5. Grant Baylor (116)

6. Paul Whibley (115)

7. Ricky Russell (99)

8. Andrew Delong (98)

9. Steward Baylor (86)

10. Chris Bach (79)

XC2 Event Results:

1. Grant Baylor (KTM)

2. Nick Davis (KTM)

3. Ricky Russell (YAM)

4. Trevor Bollinger (HON)

5. Layne Michael (HON)

6. Sam Evans (KTM)

7. Michael McGinnis (KTM)

8. Derrik Allen (KAW)

9. Chris Douglas (KTM)

10. Ryan Lojak (YAM)

XC2 Series Standings:

1. Grant Baylor (202)

2. Ricky Russell (199)

3. Trevor Bollinger (160)

4. Layne Michael (116)

5. Shane Hufford Jr (105)

6. Callan May (93)

7. Jesse Groemm (90)

8. Sam Evans (88)

9. Chris Douglas (84)

10. Jedediah Haines (74)