Jonny Walker Wins 20th Annual Erzberg Rodeo

Cycle News Staff | June 2, 2014
Jonny Walker won the 2014 Erzberg Rodeo

Jonny Walker took his second Erzberg win. Photo: Jonty Edmunds/Red Bull Content Pool

KTM Factory Racing’s Jonny Walker claimed his second Red Bull Erzberg Rodeo win in three years at the 20th running of the notoriously difficult event. Walker took off from the start and was never seriously challenged.

“I believed I could win this race and that’s exactly what I set out to do from the start,” said an ecstatic Walker at the finish line. “I’ve trained my butt off since The Tough One. I felt ready and I gave it everything I had. Overall the race went well, I hardly made any mistakes and got the win. I’m so happy right now — I needed this!”

Graham Jarvis, the defending champion crashed in the early going and was forced to play catch up. He ultimately finished second. Walker’s KTM teammate Andreas Lettenbichler rounded out the podium.

Canada’s Cory Graffunder, a regular on the American EnduroCross tour finished seventh in his fourth attempt at Erzberg.

Erzberg Rodeo rookies, Taylor Robert and Cody Webb fought it out to the finish, with Robert narrowly beating Webb for ninth and top American honors.