Paul Whibley Tops Kentucky OMA

| May 5, 2014
  Paul Whibley won the second round of the OMA Series in Kentucky. Photography by John Gasso

Paul Whibley captured the overall win at the second round of the OMA Series in Kentucky. Photography by John Gasso

GREENSBURG, KY, MAY 4 – Round two of the OMA Nationals Series was held at the Russell Creek XC compound and after an uncharacteristic last-place start, five-time OMA Champion Paul Whibley aboard his NFab/Monster Energy/AmPro Yamaha took home another win, his second since returning healthy to the series this year.

Airgroup Moose Racing Husqvarna’s Nick Fahringer was second, followed by Whibley’s teammate Jordan Ashburn, who nosed out Fahringer for the FMF Holeshot Award.

Jason Thomas and his KLIM/Maxxis Dirt Wise KTM struggled all day, but he nearly caught Ashburn in a late-race dash. He had to settle for fourth place, though, while Pro 2-class winner Mark Heresco, on the SRT Off-Road/Kenda Tires KTM, rounded out the top five overall.

“I don’t know what was going on,” said Whibely. “I knew the bike wasn’t going to start because I was doing some practice starts and it just wouldn’t start. After that I caught up pretty quick and made a couple of quick passes. I think I was on to the back of Nick about halfway through the first lap. He had a good pace and it seemed like we pulled away from everyone else.

“We started getting a little gap, and then I had the opportunity to pass Nick up a rocky hill,” Whibley added. “I got into the lead and tried to put my head down and get a little gap, and it just kept growing. The second half I was able to cruise a little bit.”


Round 2

May 2, 2014

Greensburg, Kentucky


1. Paul Whibley (Yam) Pro 1

2. Nick Fahringer (Hus) Pro 1

3. Jason Thomas (KTM) Pro 1

4. Jordan Ashburn (Yam) Pro 1

5. Mark Heresco (KTM) Pro 2

6. Shane Klimek (Suz) Pro 2

7. Dirk Richards (KTM) Pro 2

8. Callan May (Yam) Pro 2

9. Lucas Statom (Yam) Pro 2

10. Spencer Burke (KTM) Pro 2

11. Cody Bollinger (Yam) Pro 2

12. Jimmy Jarrett (KTM) Pro 1

13. Derek Spangler (KTM) Pro 2

14. Darren Carlson (KTM) A Open

15. Larry Silvia (KTM) A Open

16. Curtis Ryan (Yam) A 30-39

17. Jeremy Smith (Yam) Pro 2

18. Rodney Carrier (Hon) A 40-49

19. Bryan Scheulin (Suz) A Open

20. Dexter Colvin (Suz) A Open


By Freelance