Charlie Mullins Takes Hard Fought Win At Loretta Lynn’s GNCC

Cycle News Staff | May 12, 2014
  Charlie Mullins won the Loretta Lynns GNCC. Photography by Ken Hill

Charlie Mullins (112) edged out Kailub Russell for the overall win at the Loretta Lynn’s GNCC. Photography by Ken Hill

Charlie Mullins claimed his second win in a row in the 2014 Parts Unlimited GNCC Series after a hard-fought battle with his FMF/KTM teammate Kailub Russell at the Loretta Lynn’s Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee, May 11.

Mullins extended his lead over Russell in the overall points standings to 12.

The racers faced mostly warm and dry conditions until just before the start of the afternoon race when a heavy downpour drenched the area, leaving in its wake s muddy racecourse and hot and humid conditions.

Russell and Mullins battled the whole way, with the race being determined on the final 11-mile lap. A small fall by Russell pretty much sealed the deal for Mullins to take the win by just seven seconds over the defending champ, Russell.

AmPro Yamaha’s Josh Strang finished a few minutes back in third.

Rockstar/JCR Honda’s Chris Bach enjoyed his best finish of the year with a fourth, while AmPro Yamaha’s Jordan Ashburn rounded out the top five overall.

Husqvarna’s Andrew DeLong finished sixth and Am/Pro Yamaha’s Paul Whibley seventh.

The eighth-place finisher was the top XC2 Pro Lites rider Grant Baylor on the FMF KTM. He edged out Yamaha pilot Ricky Russell, who was ninth overall.

Honda rider Takeshi Koikeda rounded out the top 10 overall.

Baylor leads Russell by just three points in the XC2 Pro Lites standings.

FMF/KTM’s Kacy Martinez took another win in the Women’s class, finishing second overall in the morning race.


Parts Unlimited Loretta Lynn’s GNCC

Hurricane Mills, Tennessee

Round 6 of 13

Sunday, May 11

OVERALL: 1. Charlie Mullins (KTM); 2. Kailub Russell (KTM); 3. Josh Strang (Yam); 4. Chris Bach (Hon); 5. Jordan Ashburn (Yam); 6. Andrew DeLong (Hus); 7. Paul Whibley (Yam); 8. (1st XC2)  Grant Baylor (KTM); 9. (2nd XC2) Ricky Russell (Yam); 10. Takeshi Koikeda (Hon); 11. (3rd XC2) Layne Michael (Hon); 12. (4th XC2) Jesse Groemm (KTM); 13. (1st 250 A) Craig DeLong (Hus); 14. (5th XC2) Chris Douglas (KTM); 15. Adam Bonneur (KTM); 16. (2nd 250 A) Michael Withkowski (KTM); 17. (6th XC2) Jedediah Haines (Yam); 18. (7th XC2) Samuel Evans (KTM); 19. (8th XC2) Callan May (Yam); 20. (9th XC2) Trevor Bollinger (Hon).