Antonio Cairoli Claims Matterley Basin Motocross GP Win

Cycle News Staff | May 26, 2014
  Antonio Cairoli won his fifth MX GP of the season at Matterley Basin. Photography by Ray Archer

Antonio Cairoli captured his fifth MX1 GP victory at Matterley Basin in Great Brittain. Photography by Ray Archer/KTM Images

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli claimed his fifth win of the 2014 FIM World Motocross Championship with 1-2 moto finishes at Great Britain’s Matterley Basin Circuit, May 25.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki World’s Clement Desalle had a shot for the overall win but a high-speed washout in the first moto ended that chance. He did, however, finish fourth in the moto and combined with a second-moto runaway win, Desalle was credited with second overall.

Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jeremy Van Horebeek continues to keep up his podium appearances with a pair of thirds for third overall.

Fourth overall was a season best result for Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Tyla Rattray who battled his way from a bad start in race one to take home eighth. In race two, the South African got off to a much better start in fourth. A pass on 24MX Honda’s Jeremy Delince got him into third, but it was short lived when the red-plate holder Antonio Cairoli came through a few laps later. Regardless, the 2008 FIM MX2 World Champion held on to a solid fourth for the remainder of the moto to take home fourth overall.

After attempting his return to the gates of MXGP at round six of the FIM Motocross World Championship in Valkenswaard, where he opted to forfeit after warm-up on Sunday, it seems the extra couple of weeks of training have done a world of good for the fan favorite CLS Kawasaki Monster Energy’s Tommy Searle. The Brit re-established himself as a top five rider with his fifth- and sixth-place scores for fifth overall.

Jeffrey Herlings won again in MX2.

The runaway train of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings kept on rolling in Great Britain, as he racked up yet another 1-1 victory.

CLS Kawasaki Monster Energy’s Arnaud Tonus matched the lap time of Herlings in race two and kept the Dutchman honest for the first quarter of a moto. A plausible second-place finish in that race combined with a bad start in race one which saw him rebound for fifth, still was enough for a respectable second overall.

Seventee-year-old Tim Gajser reached a milestone in his career today in Matterley Basin, putting in two impressive top-five finishes, a fourth and a third, for third over all and his first ever FIM MX2 World Championship podium finish

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jordi Tixier took a hard fought fourth overall. The French vice-World Champion was pushing it to the limit in race one which helped him pull off second place. An average start in race two saw the youngster struggle his way forward to fifth.

Glued to the list of MX2 top fivers, Wilvo Nestaan Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Romain Febvre brawled his way to an eighth and fourth, respectively, for fifth overall.

Round 8

May 25, 2014

Matterley Basin Circuit

Matterley Basin, Great Britain



MXGP Race 1 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 35:06.163; 2. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:03.859; 3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:13.248; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:19.366; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:27.520; 6. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:40.699; 7. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), +0:42.154; 8. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Husqvarna), +0:53.366; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +1:12.119; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), +1:12.857

MXGP Race 2 top ten: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 35:00.023; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:17.717; 3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:31.838; 4. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Husqvarna), +0:35.822; 5. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:42.005; 6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:43.077; 7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:54.148; 8. Matiss Karro (LAT, KTM), +0:59.449; 9. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), +1:01.224; 10. Joel Roelants (BEL, Honda), +1:03.625

MXGP Overall top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 47 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 43 p.; 3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 40 p.; 4. Tyla Rattray (RSA, HUS), 31 p.; 5. Tommy Searle (GBR, KAW), 31 p.; 6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 30 p.; 7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 27 p.; 8. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), 26 p.; 9. Steven Frossard (FRA, KAW), 22 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, YAM), 20 p.

MXGP World Championship Classification Top Ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 351 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ), 323 p.; 3. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 316 p.; 4. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 250 p.; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, KAW), 205 p.; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HON), 166 p.; 7. Steven Frossard (FRA, KAW), 164 p.; 8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 159 p.; 9. Joel Roelants (BEL, HON), 153 p.; 10. Xavier Boog (FRA, HON), 145 p.


MX2 Race 1 top ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 34:59.916; 2. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:21.339; 3. Max Anstie (GBR, Yamaha), +0:24.047; 4. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:25.259; 5. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:29.250; 6. Valentin Guillod (SUI, KTM), +0:38.942; 7. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:56.260; 8. Romain Febvre (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:59.972; 9. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, Husqvarna), +1:06.233; 10. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +1:10.803

MX2 Race 2 top ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:08.239; 2. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Kawasaki), +0:16.689; 3. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:41.286; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Husqvarna), +0:42.239; 5. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:59.739; 6. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, Husqvarna), +1:02.273; 7. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +1:05.939; 8. Damon Graulus (BEL, KTM), +1:10.042; 9. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Suzuki), +1:12.980; 10. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM)

MX2 Overall top ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 50 points; 2. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KAW), 38 p.; 3. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 38 p.; 4. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 38 p.; 5. Romain Febvre (FRA, HUS), 31 p.; 6. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, HUS), 27 p.; 7. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 25 p.; 8. Damon Graulus (BEL, KTM), 23 p.; 9. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 23 p.; 10. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 20 p.

MX2 World Championship Classification Top Ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 344 points; 2. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KAW), 305 p.; 3. Romain Febvre (FRA, HUS), 263 p.; 4. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 253 p.; 5. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 248 p.; 6. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 209 p.; 7. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, HUS), 197 p.; 8. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 184 p.; 9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ), 176 p.; 10. Valentin Guillod (SUI, KTM), 173 p