Charlie Mullins Tops Limestone 100 GNCC In Indiana

Cycle News Staff | April 28, 2014
  Charlie Mullins won the Limestone 100 GNCC in Indiana. Photography by Ken Hill

Charlie Mullins got back to his winnings ways in the 2014 GNCC Series at the Limestone 100 in Indiana. Photography by Ken Hill

FMF/KTM’s Charlie Mullins returned to the top step of the podium after watching his teammate Kailub Russell win the last three rounds of the 2014 GNCC Series. Mullins took full advantage of a mistake by Russell early in the race and held on for his second win of the season. And with it, the former GNCC champ takes over the overall points lead, 125-118, over Russell.

Russell suffered a big end over end crash early on and had to pit to straighten out his bent bike. The unscheduled pit stop cost Russell about three very long minutes. He rejoined the race and used the next three hours to work his way up through the pack, finishing right behind Honda rider Thad DuVall for third place. Both DuVall and Russell crossed the finish line a little over a minute behind Mullins.

Not far off their pace was the XC2 Pro-class winner Ricky Russell on the Raines Riding University/Atlas Cycles Yamaha. It was his first ever win in the class.

Russell and defending class champ Grant Baylor surged past early leader Jesse Groemm to claim the first two positions in the class. Groemm finished up in third.

In the morning race, Factory FMF/KTM’s Kacy Martinez grabbed her fourth win of the season in the WXC division, as well as second overall for the day. Ohio’s Mandi Mastin made her second appearance to the WXC podium this season with a second place in the class, while N-Fab AmPro Yamaha’s Becca Sheets finished third in the class.


2014 GNCC Series

Limestone 100

Springville, Indian

April 27, 2014 (Round 5)


1. Charlie Mullins (KTM)

2. Thad DuVall (Hon)

3. Kailub Russell (KTM)

4. Ricky Russell (Yam) XC2 Pro

5. Paul Whibley (Yam)

6. Grant Baylor (KTM) XC2 Pro

7. Stewart Baylor Jr. (KTM)

8. Takeshi Koikeda (KTM)

9. Jordan Ashburn (Yam)

10. Josh Strang (Yam)