Kyle Wyman Wins Daytona Harley Final

Paul Carruthers | March 14, 2014

Photography by Larry Lawrence
DAYTONA BEACH, FL, MARCH 14 – No one has come close to the kind of record that Kyle Wyman has put together in Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson racing at Daytona International Speedway and the New Yorker added to that today as racing action got started at the Speedway.

Wyman won his third race in the four-year history of the series, the KWR/Millennium Technologies team owner/racer holding off a horde of screaming XR1200s to win the race that, as always, came down to a drafting battle to the finish line. This time there were 11 riders going to the flag together with Wyman beating 11th placed Dave Estok by just .647 of a second. Yes, the top 11 were separated by just .647 of a second.

Second place went to last year’s winner Tyler O’Hara, the Josh Chisum Racing rider just .068 of a second behind Wyman. Folsom Harley-Davidson’s Gage McAllister filled the podium – again just a scant .108 of a second from victory.

Suburban Harley-Davidson’s Benny Carlson was fifth followed by OPR/Liberty Chevrolet’s Eric Stump and Ruthless Racing’s Danny Eslick, the man who led out of the chicane on the final lap. Eslick, just a half an hour earlier, had earned pole position for tomorrow’s Daytona 200.

Hayden Schultz, Michael Barnes, Barrett Long and Estok rounded out the top 11. Ryan Kerr was next, 4.9 seconds behind the lead group, but some 21 seconds ahead of 13th placed Shane Narbonne.

Defending Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series Champion and pole sitter Steve Rapp only completed three laps.

Harley-Davidson Final

Daytona International Speedway

March 14, 2014

1.              Kyle Wyman

2.              Tyler O’Hara

3.              Gage McAllister

4.              Nick Hansen

5.              Ben Carlson

6.              Eric Stump

7.              Danny Eslick

8.              Hayden Schultz

9.              Michael Barnes

10.           Barrett Long

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America’s Daily Motorcycle News Source.