Corey Alexander Dominates Supersport Again

Larry Lawrence | March 15, 2014

Photography by Larry Lawrence
DAYTONA BEACH, FL, MARCH 15 – Corey Alexander repeated his dominating performance of yesterday in the second round of AMA Pro SuperSport today . Racing his Celtic Racing/HVMC Suzuki GSXR600, Alexander took the lead on the first lap and pulled away to a convincing 6.884 second victory. And that was after backing out of it on the final couple of laps.

Alexander’s teammate Wyatt Farris came out on top in a tremendous five-rider race-long battle for second place. Farris broke away in the infield on the final lap while the riders behind him jockeyed for position. Hayden Gillim made a nice last lap charge to finish third to round out the podium.

It was a Suzuki sweep of the top three spots.

“I’ve got to thank my crew for giving me a great motorcycle,” Alexander said. “I’m happy to be up here again and seeing three Suzukis on the podium.

Thornton shot off the line with a rocket start to lead the pack into the first turn, but Alexander grabbed the lead before they hit the International Horseshoe. Thornton ran wide going into that turn and before the lap was over he had pulled out of the race with a problem with his machine.

Like in yesterday’s race Alexander was simply untouchable. He was turning laps nearly a second a lap faster and by the third lap he was gone – three seconds ahead of  five-rider group that included Wyatt Farris, Cody Wyman, Mark Miller, Jr., Armando Ferrer   and Dustin Dominguez battling for second.

On lap five Dominguez went into a spectacular broadslide going into the chicane and nearly hit another rider, but somehow held on and made the pass.

Mid-race sixth-place Hayden Gillim was on the gas and with the help of the draft turned the fastest lap of the race at a 1:52.906.

With his double victory Alexander has taken a strong early lead in the series standings.

AMA SuperSport Results from Daytona – March 15, 2014

1.              Corey Alexander (SUZ)

2.              Wyatt Farris (SUZ)

3.              Hayden Gillim (SUZ)

4.              Armando Ferrer (YAM)

5.              Cody Wyman (SUZ)

6.              Dustin Dominguez (YAM)

7.              JC Camacho (YAM)

8.              Mark Miller, Jr. (YAM)

9.              Jason Aguilar (YAM)

10.           Erick Sanchez (YAM)

Larry Lawrence | Archives Editor

In addition to writing our Archives section on a weekly basis, Lawrence is another who is capable of covering any event we throw his way.